PDA

View Full Version : What is a good ratio to keep on a torrent

digmen1
01-16-2009, 07:50 PM
Hi Guys

I am new to Bit Torrents.

I am now a member of two sites and getting to grips with things.

What is a good ratio of uploads to downloads to keep, so that I have something to aim for and to be fair etc. I try to leave my client online for a while.

Polarbear
01-16-2009, 07:58 PM
Hi Guys

I am new to Bit Torrents.

I am now a member of two sites and getting to grips with things.

What is a good ratio of uploads to downloads to keep, so that I have something to aim for and to be fair etc. I try to leave my client online for a while.

you should try to seed every individual torrent back 1:1. if you can't, seed as long as the site rules demand.

same goes for the global ratio. 1.0 or above is fine on every tracker.

Ahmed047
01-16-2009, 08:00 PM
Actually the best thing is to leave your torrent files in the client for the longest possible period to maintain the viability of torrent so other users even if they come late they will find the torrent is seeded & download without fear,you can also at least reach the ratio of 1 or more as you like , or more simply fellow the tracker rules found in the faq regarding seeding ratio & seeding duration

Time-Traveller
01-16-2009, 08:03 PM
Personally I never stop seeding anything I download until it's time to clean out the hard drive (6 month-ish rotation) it averages out at about 3:1 for most of my sites with a few hundred GB or so buffer.

I mainly use ratio free sites now where I happily leech, seed forever & donate too.

Currently seeding 150 torrents, after a small clean up

viru5
01-16-2009, 08:03 PM
The important in p2p world is have an ratio 1:1, and keep the torrents active much time than u can.

Swift
01-16-2009, 08:11 PM
seed as much as you can :) you will get a decent ratio for every torrent... and try to learn about parcial seeding later if you're upload speed isn't that good

Time-Traveller
01-16-2009, 08:17 PM