PDA

View Full Version : Home theater, want to make my PC more quiet

KFlint
02-25-2009, 10:48 PM
Hey,

First i must say that I'm not at all up-to-date on the newest PC hardware available these days. I stopped watching for it a couple years ago because I'm not gaming on my PC and it was more than enough for coding (I'm a web programmer)

So here I am with my 3-4 years old PC, a Pentium 4 3.2 Ghz with 3 Gigs of RAM with an ATI Radeon 256 megs in it.

Works just fine for me on Vista, however, i want to use it as part of my home theater and i find it annoying to constantly hear the fans in it (the hard drive swapping doesn't bother me at the moment).

So I wonder what I should do that wouldn't cost a fortune. I'm not sure which fan is making the more noise, I'm not even sure how many fans there is in the box tbh, maybe some have experience with this?

I don't want to end up changing the whole thing to have it more silent, so any recommendation is welcome

Thx!

clocker
02-25-2009, 11:06 PM
First thing to do is isolate which fan is the noisiest...I'm guessing it's the CPU heatsink fan.
If that's the case, a simple swap to an aftermarket sink/fan combo would probably do the trick. P4's are volcanoes and there were lots of options available back in the day, so finding a replacement shouldn't be too difficult.

A second, more involved but not necessarily more expensive option, would be to change cases.
Depends on your access to used PCs, but the older Gateway "toaster" cases had almost full coverage with plastic cladding and are very quiet as a result.
A PC recycling center near me has three such cases in stock that could probably be had for $10-15...they'll just junk 'em, so anything they get is gravy.

At any rate, there are a few different ways to approach this depending on your level of expertise.

Artemis
02-26-2009, 01:44 AM