PDA

View Full Version : Whats wrong with being a trader?

AkaiDoresu
03-27-2009, 03:34 AM
Ok seriously, I see more and more emo kids who scream out "burn traders" because they are bad users.

I haven't been around for a while so can someone explain that to me?
I'm a trader. Or rather I used to be in a days when I was more active in the torrenting world.

Well in my entire career on FST I gaveaway moreless 100 invites. Is that bad?
I have never been banned from any tracker other than for inactivity. Is that bad?
I've been to many trackers and always shared my knowledge about them especially during the times when some trackers where really rare. Is that bad?

Just because I can get into some websites faster than a normal person because I'm in possession of many invites (that are desirable by many people, especially noobs) doesn't make me a bad person, well today I've been told so and I notice this trend getting on popularity here.

So can anyone tell me what's the problem? Is it just bunch of jeleous emo kids or there is some deep meaning into that? THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A FREE LUNCH and if there is please tell me where cuz I'm damn hungry.

Kyokushin
03-27-2009, 03:45 AM
I'll keep it simple:

Most trackers want quality members in them. So, the give out invites in order to get more members. The invites are supposed to be for people you know, trust and believe are gonna be a valuable member for the site. That's the whole point of invites.

BUT if you trade them, there is always a risk that the person you are inviting is not a good user, and you are inviting him only to get access to some other site in return.

Now, is trading BAD? No. There are bad traders who don't really care about the person they are inviting as long as they get the invite THEY want. And there are also good traders that make sure that they are inviting good and responsible users.

rytheguy
03-27-2009, 04:08 AM