PDA

View Full Version : Does tracker list whether a peer is seed/leech?

NYTReader
04-12-2009, 12:12 PM
When a peer contacts a tracker to get a subset of the peers in the swarm, my understanding is that the tracker basically just returns a list of IP addresses (according to http://wiki.theory.org/BitTorrentSpecification#Tracker_Response).

Is it possible to get the tracker to also tell me whether each of those peers is a seed or leech? My understanding the seed/leech status is only learned from direct contact with another peer, but was wondering if it could also be learned from the tracker.

stoi
04-12-2009, 12:16 PM
Not sure exactly what you mean, so i may sound like a complete noob here.

but surely the tracker already does this, because we have seeders and leechers, if your client sends a complete announce to the tracker, you move from the leechers list to the seeders list.

RedRansom
04-12-2009, 01:10 PM
Tracker can see your client ip adress if that what you mean...

tutipute
04-12-2009, 01:33 PM
stoi and RedRansom I think you both got the question wrong... :)

From what i know, you are right! The result does not contain any annotation whether each peer is a seeder or a leecher, it only contains information on how to establish a connection with the peer (i.e: ip, peer id, port).

Whether it is possible or not, yes, it is possible to modify the tracker's response (That's the easy part...) but you will need to make sure that the client will know how to read the modified result. Basically it means that standard clients will (probably) not be able to send requests to your tracker and receive responses from your tracker since standard clients only support the standard BT protocol...

If you want to design your own security and validation mechanisms then it is possible but you will have to have your own client, mod or plug-in to support it on the other hand...

I hope that helps!

Col. Skillz
04-12-2009, 01:34 PM