PDA

View Full Version : Deep Fryer

tesco
05-03-2009, 02:04 PM
I've never used one before.
I'm thinking of buying one though for making french fries and fried potatos and stuff.
Just wondering about the oil in it though. Do you have to change the oil every time you use it or does it clean it or something?:unsure:
I imagine if I had to replace the oil every time I used it it would cost a lot to use. :blink:

benchez' mum
05-03-2009, 02:18 PM
The chippie accross the road from me has been using the same oil for 10 years I think. :mellow:

Alien5
05-03-2009, 02:26 PM
There are good Oils to use and Bad ones.

Avoid cheep tran-fats.

Sunflower Oil is good enough.

The healthyer the type of oil you use and the more often you change it, the longer you will live.

Bad Oils and fats just increase the risk Heart disease and Cancer.

tesco
05-03-2009, 02:32 PM
There are good Oils to use and Bad ones.

Avoid cheep tran-fats.

Sunflower Oil is good enough.

The healthyer the type of oil you use and the more often you change it, the longer you will live.

Bad Oils and fats just increase the risk Heart disease and Cancer.
thanks.

But so if I put in sunflower oil can I use it once, then not use the thing for a week, then use it again without changing the oil?

Alien5
05-03-2009, 02:50 PM
you can re-use it: http://www.answerbag.com/q_view/12319

but every time you re-use the same oil, it becomes more harmfull.

cooking oil at high temperatures produces carcinogenic compounds. Carcinogenic compounds are released when fat is oxidized during high temperature cooking. Two other tips: Never let cooking oil smoke, and don't reuse oil.

Just reading makes me feel ill.
http://www.scribd.com/doc/7191794/Cooking-Oil-Waste