PDA

View Full Version : Help me to decide which laptop I should keep

reminder
08-17-2009, 12:06 PM
Hi

I have been using Sony VGN-BX196VP laptop for 4 years now.

Recently, I have bought HP 550 laptop for my parents.

But now I am thinking should I give my old Sony laptop to my parents and keep the new HP for myself. My parents have basic needs, but I do use the Sony laptop for Photoshop and Adobe premier.

I am thinking that because BX196VP is 4 years old, HP 550 will be faster than BX196VP. However, when I was installing software on HP 550, it also seemed a bit slow.

the spec for BX196VP is: 1.74 GHz and 1.5GB Ram:
http://vaio.sony.co.uk/view/ShowProduct.action?product=VGN-BX196VP&productFilters=retired&site=voe_en_GB_prof&pageType=Overview&category=VN+BX+Series

the spec for HP 550 is: Intel® Celeron 2.0 GHz and 1GB Ram
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/uk/en/sm/WF06a/321957-321957-64295-3955548-3955548-3764998.html

Hope u can help

lynx
08-18-2009, 12:34 AM
Even though it is 4 years old the 1.73 GHz Pentium M 740 processor in the Sony is still better than to 2.0 GHz Celeron M processor in the HP.

I'm also betting that you've got XP on the Sony and Vista on the HP.

I'll solve your dilemma for you - give the HP to your parents, wait till October then buy yourself something decent like an Acer Aspire 8930 with Windows 7 installed, then send the Sony to me.

Everyone is happy, it's win, win, win.

peat moss
08-18-2009, 01:14 AM
I'd never buy a budget computer with the Celeron chip , its a dog . Sure the price seems good but .. christ wait till you install an antivirus then you know slow . Could you at lest bump up the memory for them ?

You''l notice I said " for them " the Celeron I mean . :D

realityhd
08-18-2009, 04:33 AM
Keep the new one because newer is always more fun.

Real men don't use antivirus programs. I have windows av and firewall and everything turned off.

locusprince
08-18-2009, 08:43 PM
i think you should keep the new one

GamesoulMaster