PDA

View Full Version : SceneTorrents password reset confirmation‏?

lol87
11-30-2009, 03:43 PM
Yesterday, I got an email from SCT claiming that I reset my password. I did NOT reset my password, so I find it very bizarre.

Am I the only one who got this email? What is more strange is that this request is made by someone from Romania/Bucharest ( The Romanian IP is shown below ). Was I exposed to attempted hacker attack? Or was it an error?

I’m not good at English, so please bear with it.

The content of the email is listed below:

Someone, hopefully you, requested that the password for the accountassociated with this email address ([email protected]) be reset. The request originated from 188.26.154.170 If you did not do this ignore this email. Please do not reply. Should you wish to confirm this request, please follow this link:

https://www.xxxx.xxxx.xxxx.xxxx.xxx

After you do this, your password will be reset and emailed backto you. –SceneTorrents

ovisan
11-30-2009, 03:45 PM
same username as here?

Swift
11-30-2009, 03:46 PM
sct does not exist anymore there for this thread is useless

sake
11-30-2009, 03:46 PM
The tracker is over. Strange.

TrollinThunder
11-30-2009, 03:47 PM
That sure sounds like a hack.

Dithersky
11-30-2009, 03:48 PM
sct does not exist anymore there for this thread is useless

it exist in some other universe :lol:

lol87
11-30-2009, 03:49 PM
I got this email yesterday, and yesterday SCT still worked.

@Ovisan: My username on SCT was different.

nosal
11-30-2009, 03:51 PM
Yeah but it doesn't work now so there's no point.

sheriff 01
11-30-2009, 03:53 PM
lol87, i think someone has hacked your account and there now using it on v2.
I really dig the sweet new look they have. :hooray:

lol87
11-30-2009, 05:34 PM
lol at sheriff 01

I fear that this could happen to other former SCT users or it could happen to users on other trackers. I also fear that this could happen on my SCC, TL, Revett, what, TBy and PTM accounts.