PDA

View Full Version : paranoia over filesharing

ktown
12-10-2009, 04:54 PM
ive been using some sort of p2p for about the last 8 years or so. i used to use limewire and kazaa but now i strictly use torrents(mostly private until demonoid was shut down, so now more public) and MU. and about once a year i get really paranoid that some dude with a badge is gonna come knockin on my door and slap me with millions of dollars worth of fines from illegal shit i have downloaded. my question is, is this a real concern? should i be worried?

anon
12-10-2009, 05:00 PM
If you download from public trackers or huge private ones, there may be one. But normally you should be sent a letter along the lines of "you downloaded X, delete it now" first. There's no 100% safe site, but generally the smaller or harder to get in a tracker is, the safer it should be.

ktown
12-10-2009, 07:25 PM
alright, thanks man, definately makes me feel better and less paranoid haha

cinephilia
12-11-2009, 12:07 PM
If you download from public trackers or huge private ones, there may be one. But normally you should be sent a letter along the lines of "you downloaded X, delete it now" first. There's no 100% safe site, but generally the smaller or harder to get in a tracker is, the safer it should be.
that's what ex-UK-T members was thinking before a certain event occurs :rolleyes:

$SnoopDo2G$
12-11-2009, 01:02 PM
The only Private trackers that are safe, are those that people doesn't know the url of it :)
for example i've a friend he got his lil tracker and max. 100 users, only people he knows are allowed in that shit, he doesn't need donations and so on...
Fuck the masses :D

But it's true, many people switched from torrents to direct download sites... some kind of paranoia occured... :lol:

anon
12-11-2009, 04:12 PM
that's what ex-UK-T members was thinking before a certain event occurs :rolleyes:

I remembered about that before posting and thus italicized "should" :lol:

kondrae
12-11-2009, 09:57 PM