PDA

View Full Version : The future of torrenting is looking grim

Col. Skillz
12-16-2009, 09:27 AM
I was wondering if anyone else is starting to feel this way. It seems little by little more trackers are getting taken down or harassed by law enforcement agencies, even the private ones.

I figure it's inevitable that piracy laws are going to get stricter and stricter, but how long do you think we have? I'm sure once torrenting is done people will find something else, I wonder if pirating (at least ez mode pirating with little risk of getting caught) will ever disappear (I hope not).

I've got no knowledge in that area so really don't know, but do you guys think the death of torrenting is on the horizon? or do we still have awhile to go? I've been really considering getting a few huge hard drives and keeping everything I download, 1 for games, 1 for movies, etc, because little by little my downloading options are weening away, assuming the recent pattern keeps up.

Thanks to anyone who reads this, maybe you're feeling the same I am (death or ScT and mininova in the same month wtf?), or maybe you know something I don't that's keeping you confident :pinch:

Totti
12-16-2009, 01:44 PM
it still has a while to go.... and if it does go you will always good old mirc to return too

karachidude
12-16-2009, 01:46 PM
if torrenting goes,something else will come up,to cheer us :D

sez
12-16-2009, 02:21 PM
BT does indeed feel shaky atm but lets just wait for 2012 and see what happens.
Warez however will never go away.There is usenet and of course the countless 1 click hosts.

Cabalo
12-16-2009, 02:33 PM
As long as there is the scene , the bt protocol will continue.
And so will all the others, some way older than BT, like ed2k, gnutella, DC+, newsgroups.

anon
12-16-2009, 06:08 PM
I've got no knowledge in that area so really don't know, but do you guys think the death of torrenting is on the horizon?