PDA

View Full Version : Which provider?

Nukewire
01-09-2010, 05:08 AM
So I have heard good things and bad things about all of them and I am new to usenet. Currently I have binverse and I'm on a free trial. I'm wondering are they a good provider or should I switch? I sorta like the look of the giganews diamond plan. But, astrawebs $11 plan looks good too, people say astraweb can be sketchy with speed and completion though too..

So basically what I'm asking is what should I go with? Whats the best for the price/security etc... :unsure:

EyeBaller
01-09-2010, 05:46 AM
I use astraweb without any problems. Set up the .us server as primary, then the .eu as a backup.

I also have a small block account with blocknews as my 2nd backup, hardly used a few mb on that one because astraweb is good.

Nukewire
01-09-2010, 06:03 AM
hmm that sounds like a cool idea. I'm highly considering that.
But how is usenet in the way of security. I know like giganews comes with free VPN on their diamond plans. will i be safe with ssl? i'm sorta new to usenet coming from torrents.

EyeBaller
01-09-2010, 06:36 AM
But how is usenet in the way of security. I know like giganews comes with free VPN on their diamond plans. will i be safe with ssl? i'm sorta new to usenet coming from torrents.

There are plenty of recent threads in this forum discussing these issues, just read through the first few pages and you'll find them.

In short though, you'll be fine with usenet and SSL.

MultiForce
01-09-2010, 02:01 PM

I'm still with GN now just because of the VPN. It's nothing you really need for Usenet downloading since you get SSL anyway but I have put the VPN thingie to good use with other stuff, and that's why I'm staying.
I can even play counter strike through the damn thing without lag or bad ping :P

Beck38
01-10-2010, 03:51 AM
I use astraweb without any problems. Set up the .us server as primary, then the .eu as a backup.