View Full Version : Best route for 1080p and projector?

doogie88
01-09-2010, 08:53 AM
I'm a little new to newgroups and also 1080p and the rest, so I may be a little lost.
I'm looking at getting a projector. If I go that route, I think ideally I would wan for BD and project at 1080p when possible? If i get a rip, do you think quality will suffer a lot on a projector?

At the same time I want the best quality possible to enjoy the 1080p.
What's the best way to do this? Download full BD and stream off my PC to my projector?

Thanks.

Beck38
01-09-2010, 03:54 PM
Actually, front projectors blow all the LCD/Plasma 'flat' screens away, IF you do it right. Biggest issue with either is what/how to 'feed' it.

I built a HTPC a couple years ago, tried NVidia graphics card first, then went to ATI (both 'top line', ATI worked better), mucked around with various s/w players (both commercial and free/pd), finally 'gave up' and bought a Popcorn Hour A110. Waiting to get a new C200 right now.

Best D*MN $300 I think I've ever spent. Plays (just about) everything, including wacky/neato things like MKV's with Ogg Vorbis additional audio tracks, things like that. The only downside with the A110 is the 100Mb/s interface, and slightly slow (compared to the C200) crunching Sigma Design chipset) of really high-rate video (>40Mb/s).

I have a full BR rip of 'Day After Tomorrow' I use for 'testing', and it peaks over 50Mb/s at many spots. Once I get the C200 (newer decode chip and gigabit LAN), it should no longer be a problem.

But for all the MKV variants plus a lot others, take a look. Both component, HDMI, optical audio (both Dolby/DTS including HD variants) out.
I stream from a large NAS/RAID box, using SMB, nothing fancy but works solidly (if you run into trouble, put on your networking hat and it's all pretty easily 'fixed').