PDA

View Full Version : Best Program For Copying Dvd's

swarnel
10-18-2003, 02:00 AM
Im buying a new computer with a DVD4+RW5 Combo Drive (burn DVD's and cds)
and i was wondering what software would be the best for making exact copies of the dvd's i already own. Im new to this whole dvd copying as well so a program with a good tutorial would be nice.

TheFilePirater
10-18-2003, 02:11 AM
dvd xcopy, you do kno, that to play dvd-r, u have to have a dvd-r player, thats usely were n00bs mess up...

swarnel
10-18-2003, 02:22 AM
lol yeah i have one
will this program save a copy of the dvd to my computer then let me burn it to a dvd-r?

TheFilePirater
10-18-2003, 02:29 AM
um i donno, never used

MUSLEMAN
10-18-2003, 02:35 AM
yes it will save it in temp then ask you to put in the empty dvd and burn to it as far as dvd-r goes you said you are buying a dvd+ burnner make sure that the burnner does both dvd- and dvd+ and you should be ok

swarnel
10-18-2003, 02:39 AM
yes it will save it in temp then ask you to put in the empty dvd and burn to it as far as dvd-r goes you said you are buying a dvd+ burnner make sure that the burnner does both dvd- and dvd+ and you should be ok

thanks musleman

3RA1N1AC
10-18-2003, 06:09 AM
i use DVD Decrypter in "file mode" to rip the DVD's entire contents and remove the region code & macrovision. then if the DVD was smaller than 4.37gb, i just burn it all straight to DVD-R with Nero.

if it's larger than 4.37gb, i delete the extra features and/or use IFO Edit to strip out some of the movie's features like the alternate soundtracks, and then burn with Nero.

i haven't tried other ways, but this has worked well for me, as far as doing 1:1 backups, stripping things out to fit movies onto burned discs, and preserving menus.

swarnel
10-18-2003, 06:33 AM
what do u mean by remove region code? allow it to play in all dvd players?

MUSLEMAN
10-18-2003, 06:38 AM
Originally posted by swarnel@18 October 2003 - 02:33