PDA

View Full Version : About using SSL encryption

simon22
03-23-2010, 11:43 PM
Hi everyone, I need some help here please:

I tried to use SSL encryption but it didn't work.

"error occurred" unable to logon:server response:unable to connect (error:10061) connection refused.

I use newsleecher and I'm connected to my isp server.

I know that using SSL is not really that different from not using it, however, I would like to know why it doesn't work. I have set the port to 563 which was advised by newsleecher.

PS. I'm new to Usenet, so forgive me for being ignorant of its features.

Beck38
03-24-2010, 04:21 AM
Probably (extremely likely) because your lowly isp usenet server doesn't support SSL.

SSL was developed (and promoted) primarily to get around isps!

simon22
03-24-2010, 03:04 PM
I thought the SSL was forced on the network by the software that you used. I did not know that the ISPs could block you from using SSL. Is there a free sever that I could use that does support SSL.

cherio
03-24-2010, 03:13 PM
It's likely a firewall conflict. There are no free servers, but you can use free trials. Powerusenet gives 10GB for 5 days.

whiteboy
03-24-2010, 03:21 PM
I think the point of SSL is so your isp doesn't see what you are doing, but you are downloading from them so...

Also using SSL is not just a port. You need to have a special server address that they would provide.

This is how it is at astraweb
regular; us.news.astraweb.com
ssl; ssl-us.astraweb.com

simon22
03-24-2010, 09:56 PM
I think the point of SSL is so your isp doesn't see what you are doing, but you are downloading from them so...

Also using SSL is not just a port. You need to have a special server address that they would provide.

This is how it is at astraweb
regular; us.news.astraweb.com
ssl; ssl-us.astraweb.com

That is why I need to use ssl since I'm downloading from my isp, I have very little security but if I use ssl at least they wouldn't know what I am downloading.