PDA

View Full Version : Should I move on?

Sanka113
03-25-2010, 10:31 PM
I've been a happy owner of a fastsh.it vps for over a year until two weeks ago. My vps (and the server it was on) went down. I guess it had a slew of problems. So server.lu (the company that fastsh.it resells from) replaced the motherboard and then the HD wouldn't boot into recover console. The server currently is STILL DOWN. I'm not sure if it's from the preexising problems or new ones but it's dead.

My query here is, is this problem something that would take two weeks to resolve from other hosts. If this timeframe is reasonable for that kind of problem at other places, like ovh, hosting-ie, etc., my level of understanding will go up. I'm no expert to webhosting so I have no idea how it should take to fix something of this nature. I've been happy with my service for over a year and don't want to leave, but if outages time frame is unacceptable, I'm going to move on.

PS: Does anyone know of any vps that offer at least

100 gb of diskspace
500mb ish ram
100 mbit connection (shared with six users)

I've found seedboxes that fit my requirements but haven't seen any vps with similar specs for around $20. What are your suggestions?

Vero
03-26-2010, 03:27 PM
What's your budget?

bluntmunchies
03-26-2010, 08:58 PM
I just switched from fastsh.it to seedwave.net and they are much better. I was tired of my server being constantly down, so I decided to look around. The only problem is you have to interview to get into the community and I don't think they have any slots open, although I hear they are getting another 100 Mbps server.

100 Mbps, 180GB HDD
uTorrent+WebUI, Deluge, Transmission, rTorrent.
VNC, Fluxbox, FTP, Firefox, IRC, RAR.
Shell access, SSH Tunelling.
All applications installed upon request.
Price: 18$/14 EUR/770 RS.

FSF did an article on them too.

Valoo
03-27-2010, 06:01 AM