PDA

View Full Version : usenetnow vs astraweb

Submission
08-12-2010, 04:27 AM
I'm thinking about going for either the 6 month $8/month deal by usenetnow or the $8/month 1 year deal by astraweb. I'm not too worried about retention as long as its 30+ days. My main concerns are completion and speed (50mbit). Any advice on which way to go?

unoriginal
08-12-2010, 06:00 AM
You might get better speeds with usenetnow since their North America server farm is on the east coast. Astraweb is based out of San Jose, CA.

zot
08-12-2010, 12:04 PM
I'm not much of a gambler, so I personally wouldn't want a long-term commitment, especially on a service I've never used before, and UsenetNow's 6-month plan at least makes it a less-risky bet than Astraweb's 1-year commitment.

Since you want to max out a fast 50 megabit connection, keep in mind that Astraweb's American server is farther from Toronto and allows fewer connections (20 vs. UsenetNow's 50 connections). That probably won't make much difference -- but it potentially could.

Retention and completion are about the same between UsenetNow and Astraweb, and about the only other difference is that UsenetNow tends to have faster turnaround times on support tickets, if that's important to you.

unoriginal
08-13-2010, 04:21 AM
You can also try usenetnow for $10.19/mo using this link: http://usenetnow.net/woot.html just in case you don't want to commit to six months right away. But I've been using them since March and have no complaints. The few times I needed to contact them I usually had my a response to my support ticket within a few hours, even on the weekends.

Duron
08-13-2010, 02:56 PM
TBH I doubt astraweb are going to disappear so it isn't that much of a risk signing up yearly

hdjunky
08-13-2010, 04:21 PM
Another vote for Usenetnow!

Beck38
08-13-2010, 04:22 PM
If you had done a simple tracert (trace-route), you'd have found out that usenetnow is a blocknews reseller.