PDA

View Full Version : Just a thought

Rart
09-22-2010, 02:25 AM
Maybe I am just playing the devil's advocate here, but I think it's something interesting to think about, maybe help us put things in perspective.

I think a lot of us have seen the "You wouldn't steal a car commercial" (and if you haven't, a quick youtube search will show you it), and we can all probably agree that they just take hyperbole to a whole other level.

But that got me thinking: what about the little things? If you think about it, they only put the serious anti theft measures on the more valuable things. What about, say, a soda can? A bag of chips? Anything small, perhaps at the nearest convenience/drug store.

I don't know about you guys, but at least to me, a little part of me somewhere, tells me that it is really, genuinely "wrong" and I would never, ever consider taking it without paying for it. Its certainly marked in my books as "taboo", and I've never done it before in my life.

Then it begs the question: exactly how is that different from pirating files? They're both rather cheap, inconsequential items in the grand scheme of things. Similar to pirating files, no one would really notice. You could probably get away with it rather easily and no one would bat an eye. Does that make it any worse than pirating files then?

You could say that you don't like paying for songs/movies/games that aren't up to your standards, but will pay for files that "deserve" it. Do soda cans or chips deserve it either? Relatively bland and uninspiring in design, often simply derivatives of other brand names. No "effort" was spent into making them worthwhile. Should we not pay for them either?