PDA

View Full Version : Spyware Blaster

darkewolf
11-10-2003, 10:32 AM
Heyas All- I was on www.webattack.com and came across a freeware app called SpyWare Blaster, in their section of spyware programs.

It claims to stop the code that installs them in IE, rather than actually scanning for them on the system. Kind of a "stop them before they infect you" kind of thing.

So I DL'd it, and figured I'd try it out. I've got it installed now, and was wondering if anybody else is using it, or if others would wanna try it out, and give ratings on how well it works...or even if it don't work at all.

THANKS!

DW

zapjb
11-10-2003, 11:36 AM
I use it. I'd say 9/10.

Busyman
11-10-2003, 11:43 AM
It also runs of off of Spybot Search and Destroy when you click Immunize. Good prog.

zapjb
11-10-2003, 11:51 AM
Yes good catch Busyman.

globalterminator
11-10-2003, 09:41 PM
9/10, however it does nothing special.

Mik3ll
11-10-2003, 09:50 PM
I would rate it 10/10, Ive been using it for a few months now, I would always get those tracking cookies, and since I installed it, I dont have them anymore, I check with Ad-Aware and Spybot

darkewolf
11-11-2003, 05:40 AM
Cool, it's sounding good so far. Last night I hit a site that I KNOW has a homepage hijacker written into it. After the page finished loading, I opened a new window, and it was still "about:Blank" even after I'd watched the "Loading java applet" go across my status screen in IE.

DW

Jordank87
11-11-2003, 06:48 AM
so should i deleat spybot search and destroy or keep both spyblast and s&d?

zapjb
11-11-2003, 11:12 AM
Keep both.

darkewolf
11-11-2003, 12:45 PM
Originally posted by Jordank87@11 November 2003 - 06:48
so should i deleat spybot search and destroy or keep both spyblast and s&d?
definitely. keep both. Spyware prevention is just like virus prevention...or even safe sex. the more precautions that you take, the better off you are.