PDA

View Full Version : Help find missing messages for collections which show as complete at binsearch

lobsterman
08-09-2011, 07:00 AM
Hi, I'm not a complete noob with newsgroups but am a noob when it comes to finding/repairing missing bits of messages. I've done some googling but find mostly information on using PAR files to complete missing parts of messages. My problem is messages within a collection which are missing entirely. Usually I find complete collections on binsearch.info which download and unrar properly. Lately I've found a few supposedly complete collections which in fact are missing messages. The collection is all green (i.e., no missing parts) in binsearch's results and includes an nfo, PAR files, the usual. But when I check my download I see several lines in NewsRover which have red X's over the envelope icon (message says "This message is no longer available on the server, but countless more are.").

Generally I've found success with video files by choosing all with the same numerical prefix from the search results in binsearch (assuming the filename is the same for each, of course). When in doubt I err on including more rather than less in creating an nzb to make sure I don't miss any files. In this case it looks like I've got all the parts of the files in the nzb but a few of the messages are simply missing entirely. Perhaps this is due to the age of the files, but binsearch's search results still show that the collections should be complete (I wonder if the parts available stat is current or if it simply represents the state of the collection when it was originally added???).

I've tried using QuickPar to open the various PAR2 files in the download but it hasn't fixed the problem. Is there anything I can do about this? I've attached a couple of screenshots to show what I'm talking about. Thank you in advance to anyone who can help.

sandman_1
08-09-2011, 03:27 PM