PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Providers, Connections, Suggestions

geovas
09-05-2011, 02:55 AM
Hi all, I am new to usnet. I am not new to file sharing as I have used torrents in the past. It was a little daunting at first but I think I understand the basics. Having said that I have a few questions that if anyone cares to answer or point me to a post already about it I would greatly appreciate it.
The current setup I am working with:

Current Newsgroup Providers:
giganews - Diamond Account
astraweb - Unlimited Account

Current Client:
NewsBin Pro 6.0 64 Bit Version

Current Auto indexer:
Newsbin Internet Search

Current User indexer:
NZBMatrix (VIP)

Current VPN:
VyprVPN - L2TP/IPsec (Free Giganews Diamond Account)

Connection:
I am currently using:
Cox Cable Preferred ( 12 Mbps Download / 1 Mbps upload )
I am able to upgrade to one of these.
Cox Cable Premier ( 25 Mbps Download / 2 Mbps upload )
Cox Cable Ultimate ( 50 Mbps Download / 5 Mbps upload )

So my questions are:

Is there any advantage/disadvantage to having multiple providers and can they be used together to increase my number of connections.

I have 50 connections from giganews and 20 from asraweb. My NewsBin connections show 70 connections total however all 20 astraweb connections show as ‘State: Connected’ ‘Group: None’. Does this mean that those connections are not doing anything?

With regards to connection servers is there any advantage/disadvantage to connecting to eu servers instead of us servers?

ssl-eu.astraweb.com
news-europe.giganews.com

I currently have all my servers set up to connect to eu, my thinking behind it is the eu servers are ‘safer’ does that make sense or am I looking at is all wrong?

I like the idea of a VPN mainly because I like to bypass my ISP. My logic is the same for VPN connections as it is for servers and I connect to a eu VPN. Again does that make sense or am I looking at this all wrong as well.