PDA

View Full Version : keep reading about astraweb glitches and vs Usenetnow??

shakezilla
01-25-2012, 11:48 PM
is this really still a issue or is it pretty uncommon to see...?? id like to buy a year and dont want to have a year of issues? otherwise Usenetnow looked like a possible option.. again sorry for being a noob i think i have this mostly figured out i just dont want to waste this money if astra is that bad service wise..

but i see astra block accounts are higher..

am i missing any real good alternatives to astra or Usenetnow without getting something from giga or highwinds??

thank you again i hope to not have many more questions like this (im trying)

edit: some of you mentioned a blocknews 9$ 100gb account i cant find that all the prices i see are 14.95? any way to get the 9$ one? otherwise newsdemon has 200gb for 19$if blocknews is really 15$ for 100gb is it worth 19$ for 200gb

hdjunky
01-26-2012, 12:28 AM
Newsdemon is highwinds. Plus the price you quoted does not include ssl. If you click that checkbox you will see it adds 2 bucks more to the price. More highwinds hijinks CHARGING for ssl. Lmao

Are you sure you wanna pay a year if you are just getting started? I've been using usenet for 15 plus years and refuse to pay long term to each there own though.

I like usenetnow and frugal usenet personally. Better support that astraweb. I was left hanging by astra a few years ago because no support on the weekends. Up to you if that matters to you.

I don't know where that blocknews price is you mentioned. I know I got that price for my account around the holidays so maybe that's why it is gone.

shakezilla
01-26-2012, 12:50 AM
ahh thanks for the info on newsdemon.... still torn on astra vs usenetnow i guess. how is usenetnow with dmca stuff?

cola
01-26-2012, 01:05 AM
they don't seem to be too quick to do takedowns if any. Plus most people use BlockNews (usenetnow reseller) for backup servers anyways.

shakezilla
01-26-2012, 01:14 AM