PDA

View Full Version : TB's rule!

Disme
03-29-2012, 11:55 AM
I've been a member of several 'High Def-trackers', old and new and I've noticed several 'Invite-requests" threads where people request all kind of tracker invites, ranging from easily accessible ones to quite hard to enter trackers.

I've also noticed these people have tens, or even hundreds of TB's uploaded (and in rare cases also download immense amounts), but still I can't seem to get myself to hand over my outstanding invites for any of 'my' trackers.

Why not, you might ask ... well, because TB's don't really mean 'shit' these days. I've been torrenting for many, many years now and I've never had to use a seedbox, because I only download what I will actually use. I have the impression this kind of reasoning is completely obselete these days. Most avid torrenters have a seedbox to upload several TB's in a very short while.

I have always used my home connection to satisfy my needs and left my PC (nowadays a NAS) on 24/7, 365 days a year.

Could that be reason I don't trust any of those seedbox-users that quickly upload a few TB's with their seedbox and than put their tracker-membership next to the many others as a trophy???
I invited people at sites for 'teh community', that made 1 or 2 forum posts and had about 60 GB up for a year, while being on HDBits they downloaded and uploaded 5 TB in a weeks time!

What I'm basically trying to say is that torrenting has degraded from a sharing and caring community to a community where the whealthiest (read the people with the best seedboxes) are considered the heroes of BT, and since that's not a community I really want to be part off, I shifted for most of my needs to the Usenet.

Discuss ...

stoi
03-29-2012, 12:14 PM
This is one of the reasons why we got rid of most classes with promotions demotions on ratio. (and to try to stop cheating/didnt work in that)