PDA

View Full Version : Spoofing An Ip Address?

ugc
11-18-2003, 10:57 PM
I was reading on Tech news that some hacker "spoofed" their IP address. I am new in the computer world and was wondering what that meant?

Keikan
11-18-2003, 11:44 PM
Making it look like you have a different ip adress

h121589
11-19-2003, 12:47 AM
i dunno

Him
11-19-2003, 12:56 AM
Originally posted by h121589@19 November 2003 - 00:47
i dunno
most useless post i have ever had the misfortune to read.

kurtsl0an
11-19-2003, 01:15 AM
Originally posted by Him@19 November 2003 - 00:56
most useless post i have ever had the misfortune to read.
yes, yours was much more informative - <_<

as keikan posted, spoofing makes the hacked computer think that the hackers computer has a trusted ip address, allowing access.

4play
11-19-2003, 01:44 AM
as keikan posted, spoofing makes the hacked computer think that the hackers computer has a trusted ip address, allowing access.

your half way there but the access to the target would have been blind with a spoofed adress. ;)

spoofing means that you fake an adress. it is impossible to start any kinda connection with a remote machine with a spoofed adress as the three way handshake is impossible.

the original dos attack was to use a unreal spoofed adress to send syn packets to a machine untill you used up all the possible connections on the machine.

UKMan
11-19-2003, 06:55 AM
Originally posted by 4play@19 November 2003 - 02:44

your half way there but the access to the target would have been blind with a spoofed adress. ;)

spoofing means that you fake an adress. it is impossible to start any kinda connection with a remote machine with a spoofed adress as the three way handshake is impossible.

the original dos attack was to use a unreal spoofed adress to send syn packets to a machine untill you used up all the possible connections on the machine.