PDA

View Full Version : Which VPN do you use?

megabyteme
07-03-2012, 11:21 PM
I believe this will become VERY important to US users as ISPs begin monitoring all customer's traffic. I'm quite uncertain who to use, if they are reliably secure, and who is easiest to setup accounts/ software with.

Please help with any VPN knowledge you have. I know next to nothing about them. Feel free to talk "down" to me as this is something I have never done before.

Thanks!

EDIT- I will specifically be using this with BT, so that is a must-have feature.

manker
07-03-2012, 11:31 PM
A VPN won't stop your ISP seeing what you're downloading. It will only stop your peers and the websites you visit seeing your actual IP address.

anon
07-03-2012, 11:45 PM
Which VPN do you use?

None. :D

That's obviously not the kind of answer you're looking for, but you'll find this (http://torrentfreak.com/which-vpn-providers-really-take-anonymity-seriously-111007/) article useful, if slightly dated.

A VPN won't stop your ISP seeing what you're downloading.

It actually should, thanks to encryption. Although middleman attacks are possible.

manker
07-03-2012, 11:56 PM

It actually should, thanks to encryption. Although middleman attacks are possible.I was wondering about something similar to do with hashes.

There's a thing on private trackers to do with not bothering to .rar content now since it's obsolete and causes storage issues for people who seed on the same machine as they view. But I was thinking that if a movie or whatever was .rar'd along with some 3kb text file, it would change the hash and make it slip by any ISP checks so long as it had a password for encryption.

Seems like a simple enough solution but it should work, yes? :eyebrows:

megabyteme
07-04-2012, 12:10 AM
None. :D

That's obviously not the kind of answer you're looking for, but you'll find this (http://torrentfreak.com/which-vpn-providers-really-take-anonymity-seriously-111007/) article useful, if slightly dated.