PDA

View Full Version : Seedbox? How are they safe?

SuperTech
07-13-2013, 03:30 PM
Greetings and salutations!

I've been warezing since 1994. My main source of downloading has been newsgroups. I use torrents on and off depending on my needs: usually for software, but more recently for TV shows. Never do Hollywood movies or music. Anyways, I recently downloaded 33GB of a TV series from USENET and the farking thing was encrypted! It was uploaded by someone at nzbroyalty.com. I tried to join their site and it wouldn't let me register without a invitation code. 33GB down the crapper.

I found a torrent of said series, but was afraid of downloading it. After some searching and asking on a warez channel, I signed up for iPredator. This basically routes all traffic through Sweden. Well, it works great, except it slows down the download and when I go to Google it changes all my results to EU (understandable of course). I think I found the holy grail with something called a seedbox. Basically, it appears to be a VPS with a bunch of software for downloading warez.

OK, great, but how exactly does this grant one legal protection? I understand that many people probably come from one IP address, but wouldn't the VPS provider have to provide the identity of who was serving X of Y movie on Z day? That's why I like newsgroups, because you are downloading from a commercial provider and no one else can see it.

In a nutshell: how exactly is a seedbox a cloak from the copyright police?

justlooking
07-14-2013, 11:32 PM
Next time ask for help here. I would've looked up that password if I would've seen your post. Also, seedboxes aren't really safe. It's just that the authorities haven't gone after them yet. Many people just use a seedbox to maintain a decent ratio on those tough to seed on sites that have specialized things I don't see on Usenet.

SuperTech
07-16-2013, 12:13 AM