PDA

View Full Version : What is the safest way to download usenet and torrent files

maddog14
10-31-2013, 06:30 PM
I have a subscription to astraweb. Which server (us or uk)should I point at using which port and which downloader do you prefer? I also would like to use a VPN service . I current have vypervpn. I have heard not to use it. Which VPN service is the safest to keep aanomonimity. I am not so much concerned with speed as much as I am about being private and annonymous. I am just looking to download some movies. Thanks

anon
10-31-2013, 08:26 PM
http://torrentfreak.com/vpn-services-that-take-your-anonymity-seriously-2013-edition-130302/

piercerseth
11-04-2013, 05:23 AM
I have a subscription to astraweb. Which server (us or uk)should I point at using which port and which downloader do you prefer? I also would like to use a VPN service . I current have vypervpn. I have heard not to use it. Which VPN service is the safest to keep aanomonimity. I am not so much concerned with speed as much as I am about being private and annonymous. I am just looking to download some movies. Thanks

US/UK will depend on where you're physically located, obviously. Survey says Sabnzbd or alt.binz are the preferred clients in use around here. I'm not aware of a reader that actually pays the server's certificate any mind, but using port 443 should keep an isp from passively snooping at least.

On vpns: Vypr's a Giganews service, but you also subscribe to astraweb? Strange. Follow anon's link and read up.

maddog14
11-04-2013, 06:04 PM

US/UK will depend on where you're physically located, obviously. Survey says Sabnzbd or alt.binz are the preferred clients in use around here. I'm not aware of a reader that actually pays the server's certificate any mind, but using port 443 should keep an isp from passively snooping at least.

On vpns: Vypr's a Giganews service, but you also subscribe to astraweb? Strange. Follow anon's link and read up.