PDA

View Full Version : NZB Upload

teflon05
01-19-2014, 08:27 PM
Got a pretty noobish question, so I'll apologize for sounding dense in advance.

I've been downloading via newsgroups for a while now, & while I'm far from being an expert, I have a pretty decent grasp on the concept. However I'm still a bit sketchy on the uploading part. I'm pretty sure I understand how to upload content to Usenet, & I'm pretty sure I understand how to create the NZB's, but I'm not clear on one thing. If I happen to come across an NZB on some other site, that is not available here, can I upload that NZB here, or do you have to create your own NZB? That sounds like a waste of time to me, but maybe I'm missing something obvious...

bbhaag
01-19-2014, 09:12 PM
You just have to upload the nzb that you already have no need to create your own.

teflon05
01-19-2014, 09:23 PM
Cool, Thanks. That's what I thought, but wanted to make sure.

piercerseth
01-19-2014, 09:30 PM
My only guideline is I don't post passworded stuff. Most of the forums those orginate from are open if you do a little bit of legwork.

niknjen
01-20-2014, 03:01 AM
thanks for your posts piercerseth!

Beck38
01-20-2014, 05:07 AM
I would say, if you want to get into the uploading, 2-3 major things:

1. Use a self-checking program like JBinUp to do the uploads. It verifies that the bits/bytes/parts get to the server you're uploading to pretty close to 100%. Old programs like PowerPost and the various others that are 'children' of PP, don't When the server you are posting to takes a bit of off-the-rails operation, it generates skips/fades, whereas JBinUp will beat on the server to make sure that the bitstream is as close to the original as possible.