PDA

View Full Version : Hi, I am new to this!

electrix
03-23-2014, 10:52 AM
Looks like I have a lot of catching-up. Although my trade is in computer technology, I rarely find the time to chat in forums and if I do, my interest usually fades. After discovering BitTorrent, it looks like things are about to change. It is just ironic that I am in the business of computer technology and never have looked into this area. Also, being a musician, my focus has always been in the analogs of the Arts. But I now believe that digitization of the Arts is unavoidable. As to where in the past I used to trade LPs with friends, record tunes on cassettes to share with them and attend live concert, I must say, things have changed since then. This new method of sharing and distribution seems as fresh as the day I began surfing on the Internet. I hope to learn a lot from this site.:)

TheFoX
03-23-2014, 11:07 AM
I dunno what to say? Sounds like you have a good thirty years of technology to catch up on.

Cassettes? I remember them, in the distant past, alongside Eight Tracks and other prehistoric technology.

One wonders what you have been doing to have failed to notice that things have changed. We no longer have party lines. Instead, everyone now has a mobile phone, and some even have two or three. In fact, starving children on the continent of Africa have mobile phones. There is a mobile phone mountain of surplus stock that they just cannot get rid of.

As for digital distribution, the current systems have all been around for about fifteen years, and the internet and filesharing has just celebrated its twenty fifth anniversary. My question is, simply, what have you been doing since you were born?