PDA

View Full Version : Finally cutting the cable cord.Need advice.

IdolEyes787
03-12-2015, 05:15 PM
I'm wondering what's the best reasonably priced option,full-on HTPC,media extender or android streaming device as I'm seeing this as a TV/movie playing device with no storage or gaming options needed(?)

Feel free to elaborate at length or talk down to me .I've built a couple of PCs but when it comes to this sort of home theater/ xmbc streaming stuff I'm an absolute noob.

Skiz
03-12-2015, 11:58 PM
I can't speak for them first hand, but if you're looking to just stream, I continually hear good things about the ASUS Chromebox if you're looking to run XBMC/Kodi.

edit: Found this list on their boards and it also lists it as a good basic setup. http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=94268

I would go for the "futureproof" option but maybe that's just me. I just hate setting things up and they aren't to my picky high standards.

[The "I Want The BEST Kodi Experience Possible. Period. And I Demand it Be Future Proof!" Category]

This is still dominated by Nvidia+Linux (or Windows 7+AMD) in my opinion. But the difference between the best and a Chromebox is slight. You will need to build a custom rig, preferably with a GT 630 V2 GPU (aka the best HTPC GPU ever) or better to even make it worthwhile. That GPU plays all my h264 2160p files, and runs Aeon Nox at 4k perfectly at 60fps so I can recommend it also for older system you want to make into Kodi machines. Here is a good starting point for the quest of building a HTPC:

http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/rmp_sg_whirlpoolpcs_htpc

Honestly only freak shows like me who care that their interlaced VC1 files are played perfectly should be building a box for Kodi if you are starting from scratch. Or gamers. Like one of my primary systems is this overclocked i5 rig so it can launch Wii games out of Kodi. That needs more than a Chromebox, but none of that is Kodi.