PDA

View Full Version : Energy Use

x_gimpg
12-12-2003, 12:02 AM
I know this varies alot but about how much energy does one computer setup take on energy? We are trying to have a traveling lan on a school bus and go ou to a lake, just trying to figure out what kind of genorator would be best and what we could rent. :lol: Thanks

Livy
12-12-2003, 12:06 AM
maybe about 500w each.

x_gimpg
12-12-2003, 12:11 AM
So if we rented something at about 10KW, then we will be fairly well powered? http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Disp...temnumber=40827 (http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=40827) is one i looked at, And at 10kw thats 20 people, doubt well have that many but with switch/router we might need that much

And BTW how long would that 8 gallon tank last running at that high wattage? Im a noob to this

Livy
12-12-2003, 12:25 AM
im not sure how long it will last, i had a look in the manual and couldnt find anything about it. although i would check each thing for actual power rating.

i went with approx 150w for monitor and 350w for cpu itself. which i would imagine is about typical, but also you may have other devices, a network hub/switch or speakers etc.

x_gimpg
12-12-2003, 12:34 AM
Usually dont use speaks on our lans just headphones to cut down on background sound. Especially with a damn generator running. Will a LCD monitor take less than a... big one? I thought the larger monitors took more power that the cpu cuz of the huge tube it uses but im just assuming.. BTW Heres the bus peeps are hoping for, lol. They are gonna replace the seats with tables. Bid over us and i kill you :angry: :D http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...9&category=6728 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2446310519&category=6728)

Livy
12-12-2003, 12:39 AM
had a look at a couple of 19" crt on a online site and power comsumption is 130watt. and a 17" lcd is about 45w

x_gimpg
12-12-2003, 12:48 AM