PDA

View Full Version : To Spammers, Read This

[B][O][T]
02-19-2003, 07:51 AM
From VB's rules topic

Spamming is not permitted; please keep all your posts as constructive as possible.

I'm new to this forum but I'm not a forum newbie.
A forum is a place to get help, make friends and help other members with problems. I guess everyone can agree with that.

But I see so much spam around here and I waste My time opening topic's that interest Me. I dont wanna open a interesting topic that was started IE Feb. 18th 06:00am and then somebody reply IE 19th 09:00am quoting the entire post and only post a huge collection of smilies.

I sure dont wanna read a reply with just a smilie.
Now We none spammers has to PM an Moderator about this particular post (spam) with a link....Then the Moderators has to open Their inbox click the link and delete/edit the post (spam).
So much work for nothing?

Yes a Moderators job is to do this stuff, but wouldnt it be better if We all post more quality posts?
Dont spam and You'll be respected by others.

This isnt <s>hotmail</s> there&#39;s no junk filter.

Spammers should be banned or have Their post count cutted down 30-40%.
Maybe start temp banning spammers IE one week or two?

Do I sound bitter? I hope not. ;)

cheers,
BOT

RDanneskjold
02-19-2003, 08:03 AM
:D I agree also that posts should be of quality and substance, it would make the quest for knowledge/information easier on all of us
We do need some fun too though. It&#39;s all about achieving a good balance. Basically think, if you think noone will want to read your post or think its a good post....don&#39;t post it :lol:

Nobody1234
02-19-2003, 08:19 AM
I agree with the your post, [O][T], But...

[b]Spammers should be banned or have Their post count cutted down 30-40%.

Maybe start temp banning spammers IE one week or two?

This is too harsh.

Spammers should be warned and their post count cut by 10 post counts.