PDA

View Full Version : Forum Driven Websites



Xilo
12-29-2003, 04:20 AM
Anyone know of any easily configurable front ends for creating websites that interact with a forum? I'm talking about stuff like vbPortal or vbHome (those are for vBulletin). An example of what I mean can be found http://www.iexbeta.com or http://www.vbulletin.org. I'm trying to find one that interacts with a vBulletin or Invision PB forum. I've tried looking almost everywhere for downloads that aren't the crappy older, feature reduced public versions.

balamm
12-29-2003, 04:38 AM
Have you thought of copying their source and just modify it to suit you?

It looks like simple forms and href



<tr>
   <td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div align="center" class="style4"><a href='http://board.iexbeta.com/ibf10/index.php?showtopic=35630'>DVD Decrypter 3...</a></div></td>
 </tr>  <tr>


<tr><td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div align="center" class="style4"><a href='http://board.iexbeta.com/ibf10/index.php?showuser=257'><span style="color: black">kernel</span></a></div></td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div align="center" class="style4"><a href='http://board.iexbeta.com/ibf10/index.php?showuser=185'><span style="color: black">BlueScreenOfDeath</span></a></div></td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div align="center" class="style4"><a href='http://board.iexbeta.com/ibf10/index.php?showuser=18429'><span style="color: black">AlienTiger</span></a></div></td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div align="center" class="style4"><a href='http://board.iexbeta.com/ibf10/index.php?showuser=18'><span style="color: black">Nostradamus</span></a></div></td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div align="center" class="style4">GoogleBot</div></td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div align="center" class="style4"><a



And so and so on.......

Xilo
12-29-2003, 04:55 AM
Nope, that won't do because that be like copying the html from a topic on this board. It just doesn't work that way.

sparsely
12-29-2003, 05:33 AM
like phpnuke?

Xilo
12-29-2003, 05:48 AM
Originally posted by Sparsely@28 December 2003 - 23:33
like phpnuke?
Yea but preferrably not phpnuke. I didn't really like it.

balamm
12-29-2003, 05:48 AM
Originally posted by Xilo@28 December 2003 - 21:55
Nope, that won't do because that be like copying the html from a topic on this board.  It just doesn't work that way.
they're not copying the html( or php ) from a topic, if anything they are embedding the topic in the page. When you load the page, it calls the topic or whatever else they have embedded.

This example works fine, you'd just need the css or js and any images

example (http://members.shaw.ca/fourum/example.htm)



.

Xilo
12-29-2003, 06:05 AM
Originally posted by balamm+28 December 2003 - 23:48--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (balamm &#064; 28 December 2003 - 23:48)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Xilo@28 December 2003 - 21:55
Nope, that won&#39;t do because that be like copying the html from a topic on this board. It just doesn&#39;t work that way.
they&#39;re not copying the html( or php ) from a topic, if anything they are embedding the topic in the page. When you load the page, it calls the topic or whatever else they have embedded.

This example works fine, you&#39;d just need the css or js and any images

example (http://members.shaw.ca/fourum/example.htm)



. [/b][/quote]
Not exactly. They are using php programming to pull all the info from an SQL database. Code would be sorta an expanded version of this for the main page for the news.

<?php

function mysql_die() {
die("Error Nr." . mysql_errno() . ": " . mysql_error());
}

&#036;configphp_link = "/www/my_site/forum/includes/config.php";
require_once(&#036;configphp_link);
define ("TABLE_PREFIX", &#036;tableprefix);
&#036;mysql_link = mysql_connect(&#036;servername, &#036;dbusername, &#036;dbpassword) or
mysql_die();
mysql_select_db(&#036;dbname,&#036;mysql_link) or mysql_die();
unset (&#036;servername, &#036;dbusername, &#036;dbpassword, &#036;tableprefix, &#036;dbname,
&#036;output);
&#036;threads = mysql_query("SELECT threadid, title FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX .
"thread WHERE thread.forumid <> _ID_OF_YOUR_FLAME_FORUM_ ORDER BY dateline DESC LIMIT 0,10", &#036;mysql_link) or mysql_die();
mysql_close(&#036;mysql_link) or mysql_die();
while (&#036;thread = mysql_fetch_array(&#036;threads))
{
&#036;display_text = &#036;thread[&#39;title&#39;];
if (strlen(&#036;display_text) > 25) {
&#036;display_text = substr(&#036;display_text,0,25);
&#036;display_text .= "...";
}
&#036;output .= "&#092;n> <a href=&#092;"/forum/" .
"showthread.php?t=" . &#036;thread[&#39;threadid&#39;] . "&#092;" target=&#092;"vbulletin&#092;">" .
&#036;display_text ."</a>";
}

unset (&#036;configphp_link);
echo nl2br(substr(&#036;output,1));


?>

I&#39;m too lazy to learn php that&#39;s why i&#39;m trying to find some easily configurable front end to do it. ;) I don&#39;t think you are getting my meaning. I&#39;m looking for an easy thing to set up to allow interactivity with the forum. Meaning: if i post something in a section on the forum, it will show up on the main page. Just stuff like that...

sparsely
12-29-2003, 06:07 AM
well, a friend of mine is doin the php for my albums on my site...but I plan to learn it...
I installed Apache, php, & mySQL locally, so I can test & view php stuff without having to upload it...but it doesn&#39;t work right :S
I&#39;m reformatting wednesday anyway (installing new mobo), so I&#39;ll try it again then...
it&#39;s not really that hard.

Xilo
12-30-2003, 02:55 AM
Never mind. I found what I needed. :)