PDA

View Full Version : Thinking Of Building My Own

BILLY-THE-FISH
01-31-2004, 12:29 AM
Hi,
Thinking of building my own computer (well tower anyhow :lol: )
I'm a bit of a beginner in building and was wondering on peoples opinions on how hard it is?
I mean I know the basics, in a mark out of 10 how difficult do you personally think it is for someone like me?
Anyone know of any good sites for guides etc.?
I know this is probably the best site I can think of for good advice!! :lol:

Cheers!

Livy
01-31-2004, 12:36 AM
check out pinned tiopic hardware guide

Skillian
01-31-2004, 12:43 AM
I built my first one last week and couldn't be happier. I'm probably a similar level to you, no expert but know the basics, though building it has taught me a whole lot more.

As long as you're willing to do a little research you'll be fine I think. Tom's hardware is a good site, but I think you'll be better reading around about specific subjects so you know what you're doing rather than just following each step of an all-in-one guide.

I say do it, you'll get a computer that will be exactly how you want it and you'll get a much better sense of satisfaction when it's done than you would do just driving home from the shops with it in the boot of your car.

I can't really give you a mark out of 10 for difficulty, but I will say that it was easier than I imagined.

_John_Lennon_
01-31-2004, 12:47 AM
Prepare the computer case
Open case
Mount base screws
Open expansion slots
Prepare and mount the motherboard
Mount CPU and CPU cooler
Mount memory modules
Mount motherboard onto case
Connect power supply
Mount the drives
Mount floppy drive
Mount hard drive
Mount CD ROM drive
Connect the drives and motherboard
Connect floppy drive
Connect hard drive
Connect CD ROM drive
Mount video and other add-on cards
Mount video card
Mount sound card
Mount FAX/data modem
Testing and getting ready for operating system
Power-on for the first time