PDA

View Full Version : Problem With Games And Other Programs

thedaddyman
03-04-2003, 05:50 AM
Okay here are my difficulties,
I am somewhat new to downloading application files ;) , so recently, I tried to download some pc games. After successfully downloading them, I found that the game came in .exe format. I double clicked on this to install it, but a window came up for about 2 secs and then disappeared. The game did not come with any instructions to be changed to a .zip file as I have read in the other forum postings. So how do I know what to rename to if at all? please advise

Also,

Could someone tell me how I can copy a game I burnt to a cdr. Some of the games I have come in zip format. Does this mean that I unzip them, and then burn the contents onto a cdr or is there some other way to go about this. When I burn them, will they be exact copies of the original?

Hope I haven't broken any forumn rules with my questions :unsure:
thanks

vash444
03-04-2003, 05:58 AM
I'm betting that the exe file is really a .iso file or something. Try changing the .exe to a .iso and opening it with IsoBuster or WinIso, extract it, or burn it on a cd.

To burn them, all you need is a CD Burning program. Nero is quite popular. In Nero, you can just go to File, Burn Image, and then find the .iso file.

puremindmatters
03-04-2003, 06:39 AM
You don't need to burn it - you can mount it like a drive with daemon tools:

daemon tools (http://www.d-tools.de/cgi-bin/Scripts/daemon.pl?daemon329.exe)

NikkiD
03-04-2003, 06:40 AM
Nope, no rules broken, but I'm going to move this to gamesworld, you'll probably get a better response there for info about burning games etc.

carbert
03-04-2003, 09:05 PM
you might not have to rename it at all. if you have winzip/winrar installed, just right-click the file, and go to Extract Files. then select a destination and away you go!

cooolway
03-05-2003, 01:40 AM
I am on Carbert on this one

imported_The__One
03-05-2003, 02:01 AM