PDA

View Full Version : Putting A Dynamic Box Somewhere



mojo2185
04-27-2004, 09:39 PM
I'm not "down" with the lingo anymore in webprogramming, so i'm not sure exactly what to call it... but i need to create a colored box that i can position over things. I remember doing this using dhtml (i think), but can't find how I achieved it. Basically, it is a box that you can "layer" on top of the page without actually coding it into the html. I think this might be called using "layers". This might be done using javascript or css style sheets. I'm trying to cover up something on my site.

Does this make any sense to anyone? :blink:

So if any body good with scripts can help me out, i'd appreciate it.

Thanks for any help!

vivitron 15
04-28-2004, 06:23 PM
not sure what you mean "hide something" but you could always use the css code:

{display:none;}

to make it not appear but still be on the page

mojo2185
04-28-2004, 10:28 PM
i'm attempting to cover something that my host puts on every web page...

ads... cough cough...

vivitron 15
04-28-2004, 11:43 PM
ah, that makes more sense then...lol, im not exactly sure.

if you look around, i believe there are ways to get rid of lycos ads if thats who u use, but apart from that i wouldnt be too sure exactly...except maybe
{position: absolute;
right:0px;
top:10px;
width:100px;
min-height:100%;}

or something like that, which i think should position your "cover" at 0px from the right of the page, 10px from the top with width and height whatever - obviously adapt to fit where it is that they stick the ads

its a long shot, but without seeing the ads, the best i can think of

mojo2185
04-29-2004, 12:33 AM
That worked on the top ad, didn't get rid of the bottom ad. It also has trouble covering flash ads. I am using Tripod, maybe i can find some tricks to "fix" those banners.

Thanks for taking a look!