PDA

View Full Version : Disabeling "save Page As"



BawA
05-09-2004, 08:31 AM
any script that disables saving webpages?

djweiser
05-09-2004, 10:02 AM
There is'nt a real way of doing it. Any webpage can be saved.

BawA
05-09-2004, 10:31 AM
there is, i saw many site disabeling saving thier page. they used a script that give u "site dosent exest or moved" error when saving thier pages.

I.am
05-09-2004, 09:17 PM
There is nothing like that. It can always be saved ;)

btw, I havent single site that gives you 404 error for saving :lol: ...post the url if u have it.

BawA
05-10-2004, 06:02 AM
it dosnt give me 404 error, a error box apears like when u want to right click and save as a download link and if the link is moven ull get error box.
i cant find the site cuz durning some of ma searches i noticed it. ;)

I.am
05-10-2004, 06:07 AM
The most you can do is either disable right click (not recommended, users hate it - besides there are always ways to overcome it)
or encrypt your source, even if people get it, it'll be useless! There are people who can still decrypt it, but the chances are rare.

Besides why do you want to disable saving? Is your source code a work of art?

I posted a topic a while back How to hide your source (http://filesharingtalk.com/index.php?showtopic=88575)

Its an interesting read! ;)

Xero Grid
05-10-2004, 07:39 AM
There's no real way of hiding your source or disabling saving of web pages... or disabling right-clicking for that matter. For example, I use MyIE2 (http://www.myie2.com/) as my browser and it comes with plug-ins. One allows for viewing the source code of a site... no matter what... and another allows enabling right-clicking, ignoring whatever script you put on the site. There are many more plug-ins that make life that much easier, but my point is that you can make it harder, especially for people who don't know what they are doing, but you can't disable it completely.

-- Xero Grid --

I.am
05-10-2004, 07:46 AM
Ah Xero Grid, read the through the link I gave. I believe there is a way, read #10.

2nd gen noob
05-10-2004, 07:49 AM
I.am, I read your guide, it's pretty good :)

I'd like to think I was fluent in HTML coding, but I can't seem to get the "INVISIBLE" tags to work...can you give me any help or advice on how to use them, please?

Ariel_001
05-10-2004, 07:53 AM
Using abrasive scripts will just piss off your users and make people want to see your source more. (People want what they can’t have). My suggestion is not to bother. That really is your best protection because it will keep your users happy and not spark any interest in your code.

BawA
05-10-2004, 08:52 AM
is there any disablign right click script without error box, i mean i dont want the error box to show up, simply just disable right click.


<script language="JavaScript1.2">

var clickmessage="Right click disabled on images!"

function disableclick(e) {
if (document.all) {
if (event.button==2||event.button==3) {
if (event.srcElement.tagName=="IMG"){
alert(clickmessage);
return false;
}
}
}
else if (document.layers) {
if (e.which == 3) {
alert(clickmessage);
return false;
}
}
else if (document.getElementById){
if (e.which==3&&e.target.tagName=="IMG"){
alert(clickmessage)
return false
}
}
}

function associateimages(){
for(i=0;i<document.images.length;i++)
document.images[i].onmousedown=disableclick;
}

if (document.all)
document.onmousedown=disableclick
else if (document.getElementById)
document.onmouseup=disableclick
else if (document.layers)
associateimages()
</script>

This is wat i use, is there any way to remove error box it that?

I.am
05-10-2004, 09:24 AM
Originally posted by 2nd gen noob@10 May 2004 - 00:57
I.am, I read your guide, it's pretty good :)

I'd like to think I was fluent in HTML coding, but I can't seem to get the "INVISIBLE" tags to work...can you give me any help or advice on how to use them, please?
<INVISIBLE> tags work on the client side. :P Dont worry about it, it will be invisible at the client side.

Whats up with the old screennames coming to life again? Are we having midlife-forum crisis? :D

2nd gen noob
05-10-2004, 09:27 AM
Originally posted by I.am+10 May 2004 - 09:32--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (I.am @ 10 May 2004 - 09:32)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-2nd gen noob@10 May 2004 - 00:57
I.am, I read your guide, it&#39;s pretty good :)

I&#39;d like to think I was fluent in HTML coding, but I can&#39;t seem to get the "INVISIBLE" tags to work...can you give me any help or advice on how to use them, please?
<INVISIBLE> tags work on the client side. :P Dont worry about it, it will be invisible at the client side.

Whats up with the old screennames coming to life again? Are we having midlife-forum crisis? :D [/b][/quote]
Ah, right. I asked a friend and he said that there&#39;s no such thing as the "INVISIBLE" tag. What a dumbass&#33;

I&#39;m getting amphoteric88 and 2nd gen noob up to 999 posts, cos that&#39;s a nicer number than the 778 they were on before :)

I.am
05-10-2004, 09:49 AM
Yeah, noobs these days dont know much about html. Maybe you can teach him now a thing or two :D

999 is a good idea (1 post before senior member), 666 sounds interesting too :ghostface:

Ariel_001
05-10-2004, 03:27 PM
Originally posted by bawa@Klite_user@10 May 2004 - 09:00
is there any disablign right click script without error box, i mean i dont want the error box to show up, simply just disable right click.


&#60;script language=&#34;JavaScript1.2&#34;&#62;

var clickmessage=&#34;Right click disabled on images&#33;&#34;

function disableclick&#40;e&#41; {
if &#40;document.all&#41; {
if &#40;event.button==2||event.button==3&#41; {
if &#40;event.srcElement.tagName==&#34;IMG&#34;&#41;{
alert&#40;clickmessage&#41;;
return false;
}
}
}
else if &#40;document.layers&#41; {
if &#40;e.which == 3&#41; {
alert&#40;clickmessage&#41;;
return false;
}
}
else if &#40;document.getElementById&#41;{
if &#40;e.which==3&&e.target.tagName==&#34;IMG&#34;&#41;{
alert&#40;clickmessage&#41;
return false
}
}
}

function associateimages&#40;&#41;{
for&#40;i=0;i&#60;document.images.length;i++&#41;
document.images&#91;i&#93;.onmousedown=disableclick;
}

if &#40;document.all&#41;
document.onmousedown=disableclick
else if &#40;document.getElementById&#41;
document.onmouseup=disableclick
else if &#40;document.layers&#41;
associateimages&#40;&#41;
&#60;/script&#62;

This is wat i use, is there any way to remove error box it that?
I do not agree with it but here you go. It should work. Put in the <head> section.


&#60;script language=JavaScript&#62;
&#60;&#33;--

function clickIE4&#40;&#41;{
if &#40;event.button==2&#41;{
return false;
}
}

function clickNS4&#40;e&#41;{
if &#40;document.layers||document.getElementById&&&#33;document.all&#41;{
if &#40;e.which==2||e.which==3&#41;{
return false;
}
}
}
if &#40;document.layers&#41;{
document.captureEvents&#40;Event.MOUSEDOWN&#41;;
document.onmousedown=clickNS4;
}
else if &#40;document.all&&&#33;document.getElementById&#41;{
document.onmousedown=clickIE4;
}
document.oncontextmenu=new Function&#40;&#34;return false&#34;&#41;
// --&#62;
&#60;/script&#62;

BawA
05-10-2004, 03:47 PM
Thanks the script worked but u disabled right click for everything, in orginal script it just disables right click on images.
can u set it so it disables right click only for images.

Ariel_001
05-10-2004, 08:33 PM
This kind of works ;)


&#60;script language=&#34;JavaScript1.2&#34;&#62;


function disableclick&#40;e&#41; {
if &#40;document.all&#41; {
if &#40;event.button==2||event.button==3&#41; {
if &#40;event.srcElement.tagName==&#34;IMG&#34;&#41;{
document.oncontextmenu=new Function&#40;&#34;return false&#34;&#41;
return false;
}
}
}
else if &#40;document.layers&#41; {
if &#40;e.which == 3&#41; {
document.oncontextmenu=new Function&#40;&#34;return false&#34;&#41;
return false;
}
}
else if &#40;document.getElementById&#41;{
if &#40;e.which==3&&e.target.tagName==&#34;IMG&#34;&#41;{
document.oncontextmenu=new Function&#40;&#34;return false&#34;&#41;
return false
}
}
}

function associateimages&#40;&#41;{
for&#40;i=0;i&#60;document.images.length;i++&#41;
document.images&#91;i&#93;.onmousedown=disableclick;
}
if &#40;document.all&#41;
document.onmousedown=disableclick
else if &#40;document.getElementById&#41;
document.onmouseup=disableclick
else if &#40;document.layers&#41;
associateimages&#40;&#41;
&#60;/script&#62;

I.am
05-10-2004, 08:39 PM
Again, as even Ariel knows it wont stop anything other than nothing will happen on right click for really noob users.

Anyone can "View Source" from the menu and get the images names and then access it directly. :D

I use myie2 as well which just enables right click in any website.

& really all one has to do is disable javascripts to block all your fuctions and use freely.

Its really lame and annoying to users&#33; I still say, dont do it&#33; Keep it clean&#33;

Sparkle1984
05-13-2004, 01:03 PM
I can still see your source code&#33;&#33; LOL&#33; :lol: All I do is go to View > Source and there it is&#33; I don&#39;t see the point in disable right click script, and have never used it. It has to be one of the most pointless scripts ever written, in my humble opinion&#33;

BawA
05-13-2004, 01:08 PM
as "I.am" said, notting is perfict using that script will help little bit for example thoes who dont know much about scripts and ways to get around that script will be usefull. :lol:

[B][O][T]
05-13-2004, 01:25 PM
Dont see the point, anyone can just press Print Screen and paste the clip into paint.

BOT