PDA

View Full Version : Telling Noobs To Read The Faq:

stoi
03-18-2003, 08:44 PM
Ive noticed a few ppl on this board, not metioning any names, that all they seem to post to noobs is.

Read the :rtfm:

and thats all they seem to post either in the guestroom, or in other threads where posts count.

Ive been here since october and must admit ive never once looked at the faq, ive learned everything from informative posts on this forum.

I think when i was a noob and if i asked about a problem i was having, and someone wrote a reply stating the above, i probably would of said "f**k you" and went to another forum to ask rather than read the faq.

If i know the answer to a noobs question i either try to find a thread on this forum that dealt with the problem/issue and post a link, or try to answer the querie myself.

Im getting pretty tired of opening threads where someone needs help, and all i see is :rtfm: as replys, and it seems to be the same few ppl that do this, now i would like to help this person out with a decent post but i dont know if A: They will ever come back after not getting much help at all B: they have read the faq and found the answer to the prob, if the latter then i would feel stupid posting a reply and he post back "i just read the FAQ and found it".

I think only mods should be allowed to use the :rtfm: in such threads as its just an easy way for ppl to become post whores.

It would be good to know of the few ppl who have posted these posts, how many they have done and how many total posts they have.

Not only is it a form of spamming, for post counts, when they are not acctually helping that person, but also it makes the threads in the forum look a mess.

i would like to hear what other members think of this whole topic, and post your suggestion`s as to either how to fix this prob, or keep it like it is.

thanx

stoi

The Great Dude
03-18-2003, 08:48 PM