PDA

View Full Version : What Should I Look For Or Get For The Sale

mikenmike0001
06-28-2004, 10:01 AM
well, let's see, i'm kinda new to looking at specs and making comparisons........my last motherboard seemed to have fried on me, cuz i was loading up win 2000 and then all of a sudden i hear these popping noises, and the windows just shuts off, but th epower is on......

so i smell smoke, and the next day i open it up and i find three of those black boxed shaped things on the motherboard...i guess transistors......had a hold in the middle.......so with that in mind, i looked up on frys sales and i bought a amd 2700+ motherboard that comes with a 333mhz cpu...for 99 bucks!! woo hoo....or at least, that sounded good.....i jus ttalked to a friend about that and he told me there's supposedly two versions of them, a burton and a througough bred, and unfornately i found out from the receipt that it was thorough bred, whihc is a slower version......but oh well....

see, that's the problem, i dont' knwo how to look for good or bad specs....

that's why i'm holdin off until 4th of july comes up to by more memory, but the problem is that when i see memory advertised with it's specs, i dont' knwo what details of the specs are good or bad.....i usually go by sale pricing.....

can someone help me out?

razorsharp013
06-28-2004, 10:39 AM
Are you going to stick with that motherboard, of are you going to bring it back for a better one?

And in order to tell you what memory you need to get, you will need to know what kind is compatible with your board...that should be listed with the product specs...so find that out. For example the board I am about to buy uses:

DDR 400 PC3200/PC2700/PC2100/PC1600 non-ECC DDR RAM Memory

Oh, and an excellent guide on RAM can be found here. (http://www.mcbriens.net/liam/index.htm?ram.htm)

clocker
06-28-2004, 01:38 PM
Mike,
The only difference between a Barton and T-bred core is the size of the L2 cache ( 512 v. 256).