PDA

View Full Version : Zone Alarm Blocks Internet when resumeing from Standby/Hybernate



Wolfmight
10-09-2004, 05:03 PM
ZoneAlarm is starting to be a beyatch again.
Right now I have:

SBC Yahoo's latest Broadband Modem with:
Connection Speed:
Incoming: 3008 kbps
Outgoing: 416 kbps
+Hardware Firewall that blocks incoming traffic

Windows XP Pro SP2:

Now I tried the XP Firewall + Zonealarm: Standby and Hybernate: No Connection, unless I close and reopen Zonealarm

I also tried turing off the XP Firewall and got the same problem.

The XP Firewall itself is probably crappy, but should I use it instead?

I need an outgoing firewall to block and keyloggers, spyware, software license checking, etc... little outgoing pests.

They're latest update must have caused this, because my pop has Windows XP Pro w/o the SP2... only SP1 instead. He updated to the latest version of Zonealarm and bang.. same problem. He said he might want to downgrade.

peat moss
10-09-2004, 05:33 PM
Its not a problem on my setup, xp/sp2 .ZA PRO 4.5.5

tesco
10-09-2004, 05:40 PM
A lot of people have problems with zone alarm 5. I'd recomend that you go back to 4.5.

and email their tech support stating your problem and they might fix it in a later build.

Arm
10-09-2004, 05:59 PM
Zone Alarm and all other personal firewalls are useless. If you want real protection then get a hardware firewall. Read this (http://www.samspade.org/d/persfire.html), and this (http://www.samspade.org/d/firewalls.html). :dry:

I would post this rant instead of links but I trust the members arent here arent such lazy fuckers they cant take the precious second to click a link. But then again, the forum does have Quick Reply. :o
Of course if you use it for other reasons like blocking connections, use your HOSTS file (http://www.accs-net.com/hosts/how_to_use_hosts.html).

If you want ad-blocking, use The Proxomitron (www.proxomitron.info). If you want a program that makes you click around alot then there is Minesweeper or my personal favorite, Snood (http://www.snood.com/).

Wolfmight
10-09-2004, 07:15 PM
Zone Alarm and all other personal firewalls are useless. If you want real protection then get a hardware firewall. Read this (http://www.samspade.org/d/persfire.html), and this (http://www.samspade.org/d/firewalls.html). :dry:

I would post this rant instead of links but I trust the members arent here arent such lazy fuckers they cant take the precious second to click a link. But then again, the forum does have Quick Reply. :o
Of course if you use it for other reasons like blocking connections, use your HOSTS file (http://www.accs-net.com/hosts/how_to_use_hosts.html).

If you want ad-blocking, use The Proxomitron (www.proxomitron.info). If you want a program that makes you click around alot then there is Minesweeper or my personal favorite, Snood (http://www.snood.com/).

Show me a hardware firewall that blocks and asks you about outgoing internet traffic and I shall be overjoyed. I just need a software solution to help manage outgoing. I already have a hardware firewall to block incoming attacks.

Arm
10-09-2004, 07:39 PM
Excellent your way ahead of me. I just menctioned this to the newbs who think having Zone Alarm will protect them from being hacked. Just thought ide let them know it wont.

peat moss
10-09-2004, 08:17 PM
Excellent your way ahead of me. I just menctioned this to the newbs who think having Zone Alarm will protect them from being hacked. Just thought ide let them know it wont.



Ya shitty tho I'v been on the net for 10 years . Never had a virus,but now all the crap you have to have to protect ones self, takes all the fun out of it .On a fast computer no problems but some aren't so lucky . :(


Edit: Kids this was before P2P ,and WAREZ was king :lol: