PDA

View Full Version : Poll: Xp Vs. Win98

Nightwolf
03-29-2003, 11:12 PM
I've been using 98 for many years now, and for the most part I'm happy with it. Recently, however, I've been having some minor problems, such as occasional Kernel32 errors and Blue Screens of Death. I've been considering upgrading to XP because it's supposed to be more stable and slightly fasten than 98. My biggest concern about upgrading is compatibility issues. I have hundreds of games, some of which are DOS-only and I'm affraid they won't work in XP, not to mention my scanner, printer, Dazzle, etc. I would like to hear some honest opinions from users who've experienced both operating systems.

ooo
03-29-2003, 11:17 PM
i like my windows 98se? lol....

slammy_dunken
03-29-2003, 11:17 PM
I dunno about the DOS games, but XP is quite good. If ur afraid of compatability issues, XP has a compatability mode, which makes the programs think its running in an older OS instead of XP. I;m using Server 2003 right now, and it's not that bad for a beta.

Los
03-29-2003, 11:36 PM
You can also scan your computer to see which software/hardware will not be compatible if you upgrade to Windows XP.

System requirements for Windows XP:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/eva...ion/sysreqs.asp (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/evaluation/sysreqs.asp)

To find out compatibility issues download the following and scan computer:
http://download.microsoft.com/download/whi...N-US/UpgAdv.exe (http://download.microsoft.com/download/whistler/Utility/1.0/WXP/EN-US/UpgAdv.exe)
(http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/howtobuy/upgrading/advisor.asp)

Windows 98 vs. Windows XP:
http://www.microsoft.com/WindowsXP/pro/eva...ide/default.asp (http://www.microsoft.com/WindowsXP/pro/evaluation/whyupgrade/sidebyside/default.asp)

Hope this helps...I upgraded and XP is way better. Plus you will have to do it sooner or later.

-Los :nuke:

ezyryder
03-29-2003, 11:39 PM