PDA

View Full Version : Painkillers during child birth?

100%
02-20-2005, 06:14 PM
They say that giving anaesthics (painkillers) to the mother during birth will harm the child.
There is the option to say no or clinics where child birth is handled in a more natural way.
(if the situation gets too extreme -the hospital is aware)
I have no experience in childbirth but its seems most people opt for painkillers, yet have never met anyone who has.
Maybe some of you who have been through this process have any tips.

DarthInsinuate
02-20-2005, 06:22 PM
anywhich way as long as the mother & child come out ok, just get it over with

ruthie
02-20-2005, 07:42 PM
Well, I've done both. when I had my first baby, I refused painkillers, til there was a problem. I was in heavy labor for a LONG time, and she was face up. the doctor tried to turn her DURING contractions. I kicked him in the stomach. They were thinking they maybe needed to do a C-section, at which point I agreed to painkillers so they could actually touch me.
my second baby was born at home, with a midwife. No painkillers there, though I think I made my friend half death from screaming. LOL.
No judgement on either approach.

100%
02-21-2005, 09:14 AM
thankyou Ruthie (didn't know you where a lady), my girlfriend wants to do it in a different clinic which doesn't do anasthetics - because it is more personal and she says that in the hospital you will get different doctors changing shifts and student doctors looking in. Her main concern is that painkillers may hurt the baby. I support whatever she wants, also knowing that if there is a problem the hospital is almost across the hallway so you might end up getting the best of both worlds.

cpt_azad
02-21-2005, 09:49 AM
No

ruthie
02-21-2005, 05:39 PM