PDA

View Full Version : movie downloads

colonblow87
04-03-2005, 06:59 PM
When looking for movies to download from IRC I tend to look for files that are titled dvdrips or svcd, and larger than 1.6 gb for a single movie. These are usually compressed tar files or teg. If the files are marked CD1 and CD2, I still look for a total file size of 1.6 gigs. That way I usually end up with good quality SVCDs. I stay away from the smaller files marked as screeners because they tend to be poor quality when burned to CD. Also, any file marked as an .avi is only playable on the PC and the conversion to a file that can be burned to a CD or DVD is too time consuming and usually ends up being crap. Any other thoughts on this subject???

colonblow87
04-03-2005, 11:43 PM
Being a relative newb I didn't notice the excellent guide put together by IKE that explains Sources, Formats and scene tags. This sheds some light on my pursuit of knowledge pertaining to movie downloading. Thanks IKE!

http://filesharingtalk.com/vb3/showthread.php?t=59344

Rip The Jacker
04-04-2005, 12:18 AM
You can actually check the quality of releases at www.vcdquality.com before you download them. You can see screenshots from group releases, and then download that specific release from mIRC, knowing what the quality looks like.

milhousse
04-08-2005, 04:29 PM
i agree. vcdquality is a great site, but some people will notice that some torrents (movies) arent listed there. (due to re-encodes). so dont kill yourself looking for it if you cant find it there.
its always updated quickly, and the forums are mod'd pretty good

joe113
04-15-2005, 06:36 AM
Also, any file marked as an .avi is only playable on the PC and the conversion to a file that can be burned to a CD or DVD is too time consuming and usually ends up being crap. Any other thoughts on this subject???