PDA

View Full Version : Paying for Usenet

Culley
05-26-2005, 09:55 PM
I notice the disclaimer at the top of the forum which reads "Never pay for File Sharing!" :P

So, before I go paying $$$ to register to a Usenet, I want to make sure I'm getting my money's worth.

I've been using Usenet for a few months. Just what my ISP provides (which isn't much as has been mentioned) and I'm using Outlook Express to search, download, and compile.

I read over forum rules, so hope I don't break any by asking this: how good is Usenet for "locating" any and all primetime TV shows?

And, if that is my interest, could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

RealitY
05-27-2005, 12:34 AM
Well I think a premium Usenet server is the one exception to that phrase and well worth as youll find out quickly. I would suggest NewsHosting being the best for what you get money wise in terms of completion and retention and is unlimited and remain to stand behind that. Also if you do decide to signup with them make sure to use our referral link at http://www.newshosting.com/?a=51500 or the banner at the top.

Also using Outlook to get stuff off Usenet is a complete pain in the ass. You should be using binarie reader like GrabIt or Newsleecher. You should take a look at my Guide which should give you all the detail you need to get you started...
http://filesharingtalk.com/vb3/showthread.php?t=69159

---== Also ==---
Welcome Aboard

:) :)

Culley
05-27-2005, 12:53 AM
Thanks.

I've read through your guides and believe I will try NewsHosting and GrabIt. I think I will try the $15/month Unlimited option.

I have a couple of questions, though. I'm not sure I understand what is meant by "retention" or "concurrent connections."

RealitY
05-27-2005, 01:58 AM
Well retention is how long something stays on the server your using.
As concurrent is how many connections you can make to the server at once...

Culley
05-27-2005, 02:01 AM
That's what I gathered, just wanted to make sure.

Thanks again.