PDA

View Full Version : Will Permanant Marker Affect Cd?

StrongislanD
04-11-2003, 01:54 AM
I have been burning cd's for quite some time now and have been labeling them with black permanant marker- Will this affect the cd in the long run? Can it damage the data? I am marking them on top- Please let me know if this can be problematic down the road-Thanks

StrongislanD
04-11-2003, 01:57 AM
Sorry i put in the wrong section- i thought I clicked on the hardware section-
please transfer me- again I am sorry

mcrosby
04-11-2003, 01:59 AM
In short, yes - there are chemicals in perminent marker that can cause damage to the data parts of your cd. Its best to use the special stick-on labels or the special cd marking pens that are available from most good retailers. :-)

jay973
04-11-2003, 02:01 AM
Ive been marking mine with marker pen for a few years now and it hasnt done mine any harm(yet!).
Lets hope no-one posts saying otherwise or else my collection is done :D for.

Edit:just seen mcrosbys post and now im worried.lol

kAb
04-11-2003, 02:01 AM
Originally posted by mcrosby@10 April 2003 - 17:59
In short, yes - there are chemicals in perminent marker that can cause damage to the data parts of your cd. Its best to use the special stick-on labels or the special cd marking pens that are available from most good retailers. :-)
horny eh? hehe.

well, i don't think the permanent marker would affect the top of the cd, the information is on the bottom.

RPerry
04-11-2003, 02:03 AM
Originally posted by mcrosby@11 April 2003 - 00:59
your saying the chemicals can bleed through the cd??

mcrosby
04-11-2003, 02:06 AM
Yes, I'm saying exactly that - even if its not true (which it is!) its better to be safe than sorry. :-)

StrongislanD
04-11-2003, 02:13 AM
I hope to god this is not the case, because i have over 500 cds marked in black permanant marker. I have not had a problem yet (knock on wood) but time tells another story.

jay973
04-11-2003, 02:15 AM