PDA

View Full Version : help with my website please!!!



david622
07-28-2005, 03:02 AM
here's what i want to do. i have a comic on my website (link in my sig), and i'm not thrilled with the layout of the comic's archive page.

instead of the layout i have now, this is what I want:

there'd be a dropdown menu on the left and an empty rectangle on the right.

a dropdown menu with as many options as there are issues (so the options in the dropdown would be issue 1, issue 2, etc.)

when I select an issue from the dropdown menu, an thumbnail of the issue (a jpg file) would appear in the empty rectangle.

then, with the click of a submit button or something the issue itself loads in the entire screen.

--

if you don't know what i mean, please ask me to elaborate. i want to make this as clear as possible.

thanks for the help,
david

tesco
07-28-2005, 03:36 AM
Can it reload the page when u click the link in the dropdown, or does it have to stay on the same page...if you know what i mean.
If it can reload then php would be easiest, if it's without reloading you gotta use a javascript.

david622
07-28-2005, 03:11 PM
i don't know php or javascript, so i guess it doesn't really matter. i guess it'd be nice to have it without reloading, but it doesn't really matter.

whichever is easier to code for somebody who only knows HTML ;)

could somebody please post the code on here?
thanks again, i REALLY appreciate this help,
david

99%
07-28-2005, 03:32 PM
http://www.google.no/search?hs=kd9&hl=no&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&q=dropdown+menu+html&btnG=S%C3%B8k&meta=

99%
07-28-2005, 03:32 PM
heres an auto one - but not so nice
http://www.htmlbasix.com/dropmenu.shtml

99%
07-28-2005, 03:34 PM
here are auto drop down generators to make your life easy
have fun
http://www.google.no/search?q=dropdown+generator&sourceid=mozilla-search&start=0&start=0&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official

david622
07-28-2005, 03:59 PM
these were close, but not quite what I was thinking. Is there a way to trigger an action from a selection from the dropdown menu without clicking on a submit button first?

Then, triggering a different action once the submit button is clicked?

tesco
07-30-2005, 12:26 AM
make the base of the page in whatever HTML you know.

Now for the dropdown make it link to {pagename}.php?article={name of the article}

Now in your html add this code to where you want the image and info about article to show:



<?php
$article = $_GET['article'];
if ($article == 'Article Name 1')
{
echo "Whatever html you want will go in here between the quotes, for that particular article";
}

elseif ($article == 'Article Name 2')
{
echo "Whatever html you want will go in here between the quotes, for that particular article";
}
elseif ($article == 'Article Name 3')
{
echo "Whatever html you want will go in here between the quotes, for that particular article";
}
else
{
echo "This is what shows if no article has been selected";
}
?>

Add more "elseif"'s for each article you want to add...make sure they are before the "else".

I hope you get what i mean...btw the page with teh articles will have to have the extension '.php'...

If you want me to set this up for you you can PM me the html for the site and i will add the php to it for you...

david622
07-30-2005, 12:56 AM
thanks so much for the reply! unfortunately, i'm gonna have to test this on an older version of the site because my current server, websiteallies.com, has been down for a few days (i pray my site will become accessible for a backup).

but i'll try this on the older, 1asphost.com server.


Okay.... I just tried it and didn't have any luck. I'm sure what you said is right, but I'm unexperienced with PHP and am humbly asking for your help ;)

i'll PM you.