PDA

View Full Version : Is this possible? (Using HTML or Java)



tralalala
07-29-2005, 08:38 AM
Hi guys, once again I am in need of assistance with the website I am maintaining.


So this time it goes like this:

On the left hand side of all pages I have navigation links (Home, Who we are, Contact Us etc.).
Now, whenever I click on one of those links it goes to the wanted page, but by completely refreshing the page (as in, all pages are the same layout, and it refreshes each time I want another page).
So, my question is:
Is there a code I can use that makes it that whenever I click on a nav link, it will only refresh the bit in the middle (in other words, the "important" bit), and not refresh the whole page, NOT USING FRAMES?

If not, then can I make it so as the frames would be with no border, so as to not ruin the layout and colour of the page?


Thanks,
Rafi


If you need more info I am available on MSN: [email protected]
Or on ICQ: 194498719

{I}{K}{E}
07-29-2005, 08:45 AM
I think this is only possible when using frames. dunno if this works vor iframes

tralalala
07-29-2005, 09:16 AM
OK...

Do you happen to know how to make the frame the same colour as the rest of the page it is sitting in?
As in the same background colour....

Thanks :D

tralalala
07-29-2005, 09:17 AM
Oh, and what is the code that makes it change the frame.....?
:)

{I}{K}{E}
07-29-2005, 09:22 AM
<body bgcolor="#000000">

change #000000 to the correct color nr.


or if you have a pic as background:

<body background="picture.gif">

tralalala
07-29-2005, 09:37 AM
OK, I will try and fix up the frames later on.. thanks!!

And is this the code for no scrollbar?
<ifram src="blabla.html" scrolling=no>

Thanks a million IKE!!

{I}{K}{E}
07-29-2005, 09:39 AM
for no scrollbar try:

<body style="overflow:auto;">

tralalala
07-29-2005, 10:07 AM
Oh and one more thing which is really annoying me..

Wehenver I link an image, the image suddenyl has a purple outline which Id DONT want..
I have looked through all documents, including the CSS and JS files, and I don't know whatis causing this...
Any help with this?

99%
07-29-2005, 10:22 AM
does this help? - border="0"
eg.
<p><a href="http://www.unified-systems.org/Resources/RND04.mov" target="_blank"><img src="images/economic.jpg" width="263" height="102" border="0"></a></p>

tralalala
07-29-2005, 11:20 AM
Awesome, thanks 99%!!! :D


And yet another thing - if I have a frame in the page with a link in it, how can I make it so that the link will take you to the page in the while window, not just in the frame (cos the frame isn't big enough...). How do I make this? I know its something to do with target in the <a href> tag.. I'm just not sure what it is..

tralalala
07-29-2005, 11:22 AM
I think it's target="_top"..?

99%
07-29-2005, 11:29 AM
you want it to open in a new window?
target="_blank">
see earlier script

99%
07-29-2005, 11:32 AM
what i like to use in pages is this
<meta http-equiv="imagetoolbar" content="no">
it prevents in IE that little popup thingy(save image etc) when you put your cursor over an image

{I}{K}{E}
07-29-2005, 11:40 AM
Target Frame refers to the frame name where you want the URL link to be invoked. If not specified, the Flash applet may launch a whole new browser window. If your webpage does not use frames, then using the _self option will ensure that the visitors keep using the browser they are currently surfing with.

If you are using frames, then you may try some of these as well:

* _self show in current frame
* _parent show in parent frame
* _top show in top-most frame
* _blank show in new unnamed top-level window

tralalala
07-29-2005, 11:41 AM
Well, now the problem is that when I click the nav link, it changes the frame, but also refreshes the whole page.
I need a code that will ONLY change the frame...

How do I do this?

{I}{K}{E}
07-29-2005, 11:44 AM
try: target="_parent"

tralalala
07-29-2005, 11:46 AM
Nope. none of those targets do what I want...

See, the nav links are outside of the frame, and I want the nav links to open INSIDE that frame, and I don't know how to do that...

tralalala
07-29-2005, 11:46 AM
parent just opens it in the whole page..

tralalala
07-29-2005, 11:47 AM
Maybe there is a JS code that would do this....?

99%
07-29-2005, 11:49 AM
does this work?
example;

<a href="#" onclick="top.main.window.location='../artists/JD/JDMain.htm';return false">Jørgen Dobloug</a>

or

<img name="Image128" src="http://www.christiandam.com/artists/images/LD_tumb_bw.jpg" border="0" height="115" width="138"></a></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td valign="top"><a href="#" onclick="top.main.window.location='LD/LDMain.htm';return false">dan</a>

tralalala
07-29-2005, 12:24 PM
What do I put instead of #? Is that the address of the frame?
And the other address is of the big window I suppose?

tralalala
07-29-2005, 12:26 PM
If that is what I am supposed to do (#=frame and the other is the main page), then it didn't work :( :( :( :cry:

david622
07-30-2005, 12:13 AM
a GREAT site to understand HTML and stuff like this is www.htmlgoodies.com
i learned a LOT from that site

tralalala
07-30-2005, 09:21 AM
Thanks David, will take a peek :)