PDA

View Full Version : How much should I seed?

kdryan
08-03-2005, 05:10 PM
Hi guys, I am new to Bit Toorent and was wondering how much should I seed a file? I am using Azureus, and as a rule of thumb have been seeding at least 100% to give back what I get. Is this a fair amount? I really want to improve my download speeds.

Kevin

{I}{K}{E}
08-03-2005, 05:53 PM
1:1 is good ;)

maebach
08-04-2005, 12:31 AM
Sometimes you'll see people with ratios of 2 or 3 or 4 or 5. They seed like mad.

kdryan
08-04-2005, 02:28 AM
1> Do I have an overall ratio, and how do I find out what it is?

2> Does seeding really affect my download speeds that much? I have no trouble sharing, but I don't want to wait a week for some obscure file I've downloaded to seed 100%.

Thanks for the answers, guys. I appreciate the help.

Kevin

Guyver
08-04-2005, 03:05 AM
I always seed way over 1:1...Its what u gatta do to keep torrents alive and kicking :)
http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/9153/untitled19tr.jpg

ziggyjuarez
08-04-2005, 03:10 AM
All you can makes you a better man.

Mr. Blunt
08-04-2005, 04:00 AM

2> Does seeding really affect my download speeds that much? I have no trouble sharing, but I don't want to wait a week for some obscure file I've downloaded to seed 100%.

Kevin
Yeah, I'm kind of wondering the same thing. :)

{I}{K}{E}
08-04-2005, 07:33 AM

Kevin

1. if you use a private torrentsite you can check your overal ratio on that website.
if you use azureus you can see your overal ratio (tools -> statics -> transfer)

2.yes if you seed (100% no capped upload) you cannot download with your max speed.

Mr. Blunt
08-04-2005, 08:36 AM

Kevin

1. if you use a private torrentsite you can check your overal ratio on that website.
if you use azureus you can see your overal ratio (tools -> statics -> transfer)

2.yes if you seed (100% no capped upload) you cannot download with your max speed.
Ahh alright Ike. Thanks.

hammond
08-04-2005, 10:37 AM