Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Cant Install service pack 2 for xp

  1. #1
    Bebi's Avatar Super Duper Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    676
    It just says failed it, might be because my xp is a copied version ... is there any other way to install the pack without windows updates or ordering the cd? I assume the installer is out there somewhere


  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    Download Size: 272391 KB

    Estimated Download Time: 1 min @ 56K
    I think they are a bit hopefully when they say it should take 1 min to download 270 megs on 56k.

    that is the full installer and is really only for installing on multiple machines. you may need to change your serial key to get that to install.

    you will need to get a keygen like mskey4in1, should not be too hard to find.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by 4play
    Download Size: 272391 KB

    Estimated Download Time: 1 min @ 56K
    I think they are a bit hopefully when they say it should take 1 min to download 270 megs on 56k.
    I noticed that too, had to start the download for myself to make sure it was actually the right thing.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Bebi's Avatar Super Duper Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    676
    well I only use my home computer so should I install it?


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    yes it the full installer.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    IMO it's the best way to install it.
    You can also, after installing, either burn the installer to a disc for if you reinstall windows, or use it to slipstream SP2 into your XP disc.

    This might have a bit of info to help you decide if you install SP2 or not: http://everythingguide.info/index.ph...ice%20Pack%202
    Last edited by tesco; 08-10-2005 at 02:16 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Bebi's Avatar Super Duper Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    676
    well I got it installed via windows updates... my boot.ini file was edited to have a flashy boot screen but that done something to my kernal file making updates impossibles, fixed now


  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    hm..I had a strange sp2 problem as well... the screen just blacked out after 10 seconds on the desktop after restarting. Sp1 worked fine. Then I upgraded the BIOS... and all is well now... strange yes

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    camstuf's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    TX, US of A
    Posts
    43

    Urgent

    XP SP2 crashes my Emachines laptop: Would not boot up, had to completely reformatt. Emachines said they would send an email when it was safe to install SP2. That was a year ago. Didn't try it on my Emachines PC, I'm scared.
    Last edited by camstuf; 08-15-2005 at 10:44 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •