Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: monitor picture shakes

  1. #1
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    I have a AOC 7F on a ATI 9600xt with the latest catalyst drivers and monitor drivers.

    Ok right now its sitting at 1024x768 at a 60 refresh rate but if i change it to 1024x768/anything above 60 then the picture shakes

    whats the problem?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    try degaussing. try plugging it into a different electrical outlet. if you're able to use generic Windows drivers for the monitor instead of brand-specific ones, maybe try that. dunno what else to suggest. *SHRUGS*

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    do you have any power supplies or unshielded speakers next to the monitor it normally causes mine to wobble a bit if there is.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    i just spent a week trying to "fix" my monitor....turned out the desklamp i use screws with it, making it wobble!
    <insert signature here>

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    how do i know that the speakers are unsheilded?

    deguassing don't do anything
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by Keikan
    how do i know that the speakers are unsheilded?

    deguassing don't do anything
    Move them away and if the wobble stops then they aren't shielded.

    Try moving other electrical devices away too.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    Any device that creates an electromagnetic field can affect a CRT monitor in the way you've described.

    LCDs and Plasma screens aren't affected by magnetic interference.

    btw, a "shaking" screen on a CRT monitor is also indicative of a failing capacitor in the power supply of the monitor. (for whatever that's worth)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •