Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ECS reveals Intel AND AMD mainboard

  1. #1
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,624
    I found this quite interesting. It was new to me for sure. Is this the future of motherboards?

    HEXUS brings you the ECS PF88, the first mainboard to support both Intel P4 AND AMD Athlon 64 processors.

    The possibilities this opens up are enormous and with plenty of features on-board, ECS are confident they have every hardware need covered for the next two years.

    The mainboard itself features an SiS965 Southbridge and SiS656 Northbridge for full Intel P4 1066 FSB support on the Intel LGA775 platform. What makes this board special is that by using a converter card you can slot in your AMD 939 Athlon 64 chip and have that running on the board instead. The converter features a SiS756 chipset to utilise the AMD K8 architecture, and is so new, it has no name, not even a codename at the time of writing.

    The mainboard has 4 slots for DDR2 667, a 1066FSB, SATA2, GigaLAN and 1394a Firewire. When in place, the SiS965 Southbridge is shared with the converter card which is based around AMD socket 939. The card has itís own dedicated SiS756 Northbridge, 2 slots of DDR400, power management circuits and a FSB2000T. These are all needed to run the AMD K8 technology.

    :Link

    : Manufacturers site - ECS





    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    old news

    and besides, if I remember correctly, ECS makes some pishy mobos
    at least I've never had a good experience with one.....

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    ECS?

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    ECS has made some good boards but only a select few of their whole line.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    ECS has made some good boards but only a select few of their whole line.


    Did n't they start out as a chip maker ? Good idea tho if Asus or the like followed suite .

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I don't see the point myself.
    Under what circumstance would it be necessary to switch from AMD to Intel in the same machine?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    I don't see the point myself.
    Under what circumstance would it be necessary to switch from AMD to Intel in the same machine?
    Agreed
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    I don't see the point myself.
    Under what circumstance would it be necessary to switch from AMD to Intel in the same machine?
    Since when is "necessary" a deciding factor for clocker?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Since when is "necessary" a deciding factor for clocker?
    Never.
    Allow me to rephrase.

    Under what circumstance would it be beneficial to change from AMD to Intel in the same machine?

    This reminds me of the old AmphiCar.
    Yes, it would drive on the road and yes, it would float on water, but it was pretty crap at either.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Since when is "necessary" a deciding factor for clocker?
    Never.
    Allow me to rephrase.

    Under what circumstance would it be beneficial to change from AMD to Intel in the same machine?

    This reminds me of the old AmphiCar.
    Yes, it would drive on the road and yes, it would float on water, but it was pretty crap at either.
    Even more importantly:

    Under what circumstance would it be beneficial to change from AMD to Intel?
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •