Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: 512MB PCI-E Geforce6800 Ultra

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    Wow...I never knew these existed. Anyone have one?

    At a local PC shop, the 7800GTs are going for around $450 while these 6800s are going for close to $800!

    (currency conversion)

    By the way, in the US are 7800s readily available at every PC shop? It seems they're only available in specialist/enthusiast stores here.
    Last edited by Vamp; 09-06-2005 at 09:22 PM.
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by Vamp

    By the way, in the US are 7800s readily available at every PC shop? It seems they're only available in specialist/enthusiast stores here.
    Uh-huh.
    Mine came in a box of Cracker Jacks.

    Even here in the land of milk and honey very few shops can afford to have $400+ video cards in stock.
    Everyone wants one, few can afford them.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    cpt_azad's Avatar Colonel
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Surrey, BC
    Posts
    6,741
    Ya, the only way you can buy a 512mb 6800 here in vancouver is through the internet. I have seen some 7800's but they're in only a few select computer stores, big companies like Future Shop and Best Buy (here, in Vancouver) dont' carry them as far as I know.

    Jeff Loomis: He's so good, he doesn't need to be dead to have a tribute.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    512mb?that's outrageous!

    where will you use all that power?

    maybe a year from now we'll also be seeing gigabyte graphic cards...

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by htd82002

    maybe a year from now we'll also be seeing gigabyte graphic cards...
    Count on it.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Quote Originally Posted by htd82002

    maybe a year from now we'll also be seeing gigabyte graphic cards...
    Count on it.

    i just don't get it, what is the 512mb for? don't tell me photoshop, nor games like doom 3...wouldn't it be silly to be playing those games with so much video power when they only need about 128, or maybe 256 at most?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Gigabyte graphics card.




  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    no...is this for real?1gb of memory for a graphics card?

    let me change my question then...what the heck am i supposed to use that power for?

    i mean, i used to drool over stuff like this...but eversince assembling my own ultimate gaming machine, i find its performance more than satisfying...i haven't run into a software that can't run in optimal speed with very high graphic settings...

    but maybe, such developments will make currently expensive cards less expensive...hmm...

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by htd82002
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Count on it.

    i just don't get it, what is the 512mb for? don't tell me photoshop, nor games like doom 3...wouldn't it be silly to be playing those games with so much video power when they only need about 128, or maybe 256 at most?
    Who's talking about games?
    You'll need that kind of GPU just to run VISTA, nevermind Doom5 (which I understand will be all black and require UV goggles).
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    A large amount of memory doesn't make a video card "powerful".

    And if you hadn't noticed... The Gigabyte brand card I posted doesn't have 1GB RAM. I was just joking about the brand.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •